Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Thanks Tree3Thanks

Thread: Rooting Iconia A1-810?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,681, Level: 38
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered Tagger First Class 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points

    Member #
    157511
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Owenton Kentucky
    Posts
    194
    Thanked
    38 times
    Points
    3,681
    Level
    38
    Device
    Acer Iconia A1-810, Acer Iconia A500

    Question Rooting Iconia A1-810?

    Hello:

    I ordered a Iconia A1-810 Tablet and should be getting it in a couple of days.

    And I was wondering how I could go about rooting it easily so that I can remove any possible Bloatware that there maybe.
    And so it will allow me to be able to run a screenshot program.

    I had a Lenovo A2109A that I had gotten rooted with using the Usb Drivers for it on my PC and MotoChopper.
    I have the Usb Drivers for my PC for the A1-810 so that's taken care of.

    I had my Lenovo rooted to the extent that it thought I had root privileges but there was no way that I could mess up the OEM ROM in anyway.
    I don't want to Flash the ROM with a Custom one, I just want to be able to run my ScreenShot program and a few other Minor Things.
    On my Lenovo I also had Tweaked the Tegra 3 in it a bit.
    But I don't want to try to OC my A1-810 in anyway.

    If I have to I can try the regular rooting procedure if someone could be so kind as to send me in the right direction{s} for the instructions on how to do it.

    Any help I'd be most Grateful: Ricky
    Laziness Breeds Stupidity. ​President John Henry Eden "Raven Rock" Fallout 3.

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 49, Level: 1
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Member #
    187585
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanked
    2 times
    Points
    49
    Level
    1
    Device
    Acer A1-810, Kindle Fire (gen 1)
    Am in similar situation as you. New to tablets but have had my A1-810 for about 1 month. Been reading up on "Rooting" and think I am about ready to give it a go. Based upon reading in other forum threads (including this forum), have downloaded the Acer Iconia Toolkit v0.8.1 and also have downloaded a system image for my device that has the required "system R/W workarounds" already installed. Was about ready to pull the trigger, but from additional reading, the most current post on 12-5-2013 leads me to believe the the most current version of Toolkit v0.8.1 can root my device without the need for a modified system.img file with the R/W workaround? That is, if I read the posts correctly, the most current version of the Toolkit can Root our A1-810 devices AND perform the required R/W workarounds without loading someone elses image to your device. I guess this means we will be "Rooting From Scratch" using the Toolkit?

    Going to keep reading, but I believe we are close. Will let you know how it works out. If I am going off the deep end, someone please pull me back in.

    Gotta luv these user forums. So much knowledge to draw from.
    WasteLandSavage thanked this.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,681, Level: 38
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered Tagger First Class 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points

    Member #
    157511
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Owenton Kentucky
    Posts
    194
    Thanked
    38 times
    Points
    3,681
    Level
    38
    Device
    Acer Iconia A1-810, Acer Iconia A500

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by lokester View Post
    Am in similar situation as you. New to tablets but have had my A1-810 for about 1 month. Been reading up on "Rooting" and think I am about ready to give it a go. Based upon reading in other forum threads (including this forum), have downloaded the Acer Iconia Toolkit v0.8.1 and also have downloaded a system image for my device that has the required "system R/W workarounds" already installed. Was about ready to pull the trigger, but from additional reading, the most current post on 12-5-2013 leads me to believe the the most current version of Toolkit v0.8.1 can root my device without the need for a modified system.img file with the R/W workaround? That is, if I read the posts correctly, the most current version of the Toolkit can Root our A1-810 devices AND perform the required R/W workarounds without loading someone elses image to your device. I guess this means we will be "Rooting From Scratch" using the Toolkit?

    Going to keep reading, but I believe we are close. Will let you know how it works out. If I am going off the deep end, someone please pull me back in.

    Gotta luv these user forums. So much knowledge to draw from.
    Sounds something like what I had on my Lenovo A2109A it was a kit that I used after installing my devices Usb drivers on my desktop.
    I had to go in and hook my tablet to my desktop, Activate the usb debugging tools on my tablet then use motochopper, But I also had to have the ClockWork Mod installed from Google Play to root the tablet, "WITHOUT" putting on a custom image.
    That way you had a safety net so to speak if you borked the tablet you could always do a Hard Factory Reset with no harm done.

    That allowed me to tweak my Tegra 3 chip, Uninstall all the factory installed bloatware etc.
    There is alot of stuff I've disabled on the A1-810 that hasn't effected it one bit, that could safely be removed from the tablet to save a few mb of space at least 100mb if not more.
    Thank You for your input and let me know how it goes.
    With Instructions on how you did it....

    Thanks: Ricky

    "UPDATE" -----"WARNING WILL ROBISON WARNING DANGER WARNING"
    Do Not I REPEAT "DO NOT" Attempt this.

    I followed all the directions on the Developer's Forum download the ToolKit, the Proper Image etc, etc.
    AND I Borked my A1-810, And now it's caught in a Boot Loop.

    With the only way to fix it is to send it BACK INTO ACER to be re-imaged.

    Not a biggie since the tablet is only 3 weeks old it's under warranty.
    BUT SAVE YOURSELF the HEADACHE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I HATE to Admit DEFEAT but I Admit it.

    If anyone tries this and Fails "REMEMBER" >>>>>>>YOU'VE BEEN WARNED<<<<<<<<
    Last edited by WasteLandSavage; 12-23-2013 at 06:12 AM. Reason: Urgent Update
    Laziness Breeds Stupidity. ​President John Henry Eden "Raven Rock" Fallout 3.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,681, Level: 38
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered Tagger First Class 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points

    Member #
    157511
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Owenton Kentucky
    Posts
    194
    Thanked
    38 times
    Points
    3,681
    Level
    38
    Device
    Acer Iconia A1-810, Acer Iconia A500
    Quote Originally Posted by lokester View Post
    Am in similar situation as you. New to tablets but have had my A1-810 for about 1 month. Been reading up on "Rooting" and think I am about ready to give it a go. Based upon reading in other forum threads (including this forum), have downloaded the Acer Iconia Toolkit v0.8.1 and also have downloaded a system image for my device that has the required "system R/W workarounds" already installed. Was about ready to pull the trigger, but from additional reading, the most current post on 12-5-2013 leads me to believe the the most current version of Toolkit v0.8.1 can root my device without the need for a modified system.img file with the R/W workaround? That is, if I read the posts correctly, the most current version of the Toolkit can Root our A1-810 devices AND perform the required R/W workarounds without loading someone elses image to your device. I guess this means we will be "Rooting From Scratch" using the Toolkit?

    Going to keep reading, but I believe we are close. Will let you know how it works out. If I am going off the deep end, someone please pull me back in.

    Gotta luv these user forums. So much knowledge to draw from.
    OK Bad News at least for me.

    I went and downloaded the toolkit, read on how to do it, so simple even I could do it.
    SO: After I started the toolkit it said Usb Debugging must be enabled in Devolopers/Settings in order to run the tool.
    Which is what I figured from running this type of program on my Lenovo, That being said THERE IS NO Devolopers Tools to be found under settings, Let alone Usb Debugging?

    That being said there is no way of rooting our A1-810?
    Unless we can find another way around this?

    The only thing I can figure is Acer in it's infinite wisdom must have decided to disable this feature....
    PLEASE let me know if you do and I will do the same.

    Thanks again: Ricky
    Laziness Breeds Stupidity. ​President John Henry Eden "Raven Rock" Fallout 3.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 49, Level: 1
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Member #
    187585
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanked
    2 times
    Points
    49
    Level
    1
    Device
    Acer A1-810, Kindle Fire (gen 1)
    Yes, you have to put your A1-810 in "developer mode" first. I found this small bit of info on another post. Basically:
    1. Go to "Settings"
    2. Then to "About Tablet"
    3. Scroll down to "Build Number" and tap the Build Number line 7 times. (or maybe 8, you will see a countdown)
    4. That puts your tab in developer mode, enables a new line of options, one of which is being able to enable "USB Debugging".

    Hopefully, you can get your tab out of its boot loop and try it again. Let me know how you come out.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,681, Level: 38
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered Tagger First Class 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points

    Member #
    157511
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Owenton Kentucky
    Posts
    194
    Thanked
    38 times
    Points
    3,681
    Level
    38
    Device
    Acer Iconia A1-810, Acer Iconia A500
    Quote Originally Posted by lokester View Post
    Yes, you have to put your A1-810 in "developer mode" first. I found this small bit of info on another post. Basically:
    1. Go to "Settings"
    2. Then to "About Tablet"
    3. Scroll down to "Build Number" and tap the Build Number line 7 times. (or maybe 8, you will see a countdown)
    4. That puts your tab in developer mode, enables a new line of options, one of which is being able to enable "USB Debugging".

    Hopefully, you can get your tab out of its boot loop and try it again. Let me know how you come out.
    Thanks for the input am most Grateful.
    I found that out last night in the Acer Community Website.

    As far as getting it ou of boot loop I had to send it back into Acer to be re imaged....
    I tried everything as you can tell, I let it boot for an hour at least to see if it would come out of it, Even after 3 Hard ReSets, It still did the samething.
    It at least would come up to the Welcome Screen the shut off and reboot.

    It makes no since, Because the ReStore Img isn't supposed to get fouled up with the BootLoader being locked????

    Then if something would get fouled up all you would have to do is a factory reset, And then you'd be good to go again.
    But I take it that was/is not the case here.

    As for trying it again?
    I doubt it, I don't have $20 to drop every other day to ship it back to Acer.

    But if you decide to try it "JUST BECAREFUL"!!!
    And PLEASE keep me posted on how it goes for you.
    And if you do succeed Let me know with step by step directions on how to do it.....

    Thanks Again: Ricky
    Laziness Breeds Stupidity. ​President John Henry Eden "Raven Rock" Fallout 3.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 49, Level: 1
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Member #
    187585
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanked
    2 times
    Points
    49
    Level
    1
    Device
    Acer A1-810, Kindle Fire (gen 1)
    Been working at this for several days now, and finally figured it out. The problem is NOT with the IconiaToolkit as that WORKS as advertised (on a Linux system that is). My problems over the past several days have been to get a properly installed and configured Linux system to recognize my tablet. This morning, I started from stratch for the 3rd time and simplicity got it right.

    1> Installed a new "32 bit version" of LUBUNTU 13 downloaded from their website. (I tried 64 bit installs of Ubuntu 12 and then 13 and while they would see the tablet's file storage, could not get the Toolkit to connect). I went with Lubuntu 13 because it was the "lite" version. The key I have read is going with the 32 bit version.

    2> Open up a UXTERM (terminal window similar to a DOS command window in Windows) and install a couple of required packages for the Android by giving the following commands:
    sudo su
    sudo apt-get install android-tools-fastboot android-tools-adb

    3> Now create a new folder in the /bin folder called IconiaToolkit with this command: sudo mkdir /bin/IconiaToolkit
    4> Now make sure you have access rights to this new folder with command: sudo chown user:user /bin/IconiaToolkit
    in the line above, replace the "user:user" with whatever user name you set up for yourself when you installed Lubuntu (ie: bob:bob)
    5> Now open up internet browser in Lubuntu and download the IconiaToolkit v0.8.1
    6> In Lubuntu, open FileManager PCManFM and double click on the Downloads folder, then right click on the IconiaToolkit.zip icon and say "Extract to" and specify /bin/IconiaToolkit as the destination folder.
    7> Now back in your Xterm window, go to the toolkit directory with the command: cd /bin/IconiaToolkit
    8> Verify you are there with the command: ls (you should see a file called toolkit.sh among other files.
    9> Now per instructions of the toolkits README file, enter the command: chmod +x toolkit.sh <enter> followed by the command: ./toolkit.sh <enter>

    you should now see the menu for the rooting script.

    I selected Option 2 for my A1-810 device followed by Option 1 - Root and then Option 1 again, ROOT FROM SCRATCH.

    Takes about 12 to 15 minutes - but was super easy once I got the correct Linux environment set up.

    All of the credit goes to Eton Jackson for his script and all of the other folks who contribute information to these forums. MANY THANKS to ALL.
    WasteLandSavage thanked this.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,681, Level: 38
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered Tagger First Class 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points

    Member #
    157511
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Owenton Kentucky
    Posts
    194
    Thanked
    38 times
    Points
    3,681
    Level
    38
    Device
    Acer Iconia A1-810, Acer Iconia A500
    Quote Originally Posted by lokester View Post
    Been working at this for several days now, and finally figured it out. The problem is NOT with the IconiaToolkit as that WORKS as advertised (on a Linux system that is). My problems over the past several days have been to get a properly installed and configured Linux system to recognize my tablet. This morning, I started from stratch for the 3rd time and simplicity got it right.

    1> Installed a new "32 bit version" of LUBUNTU 13 downloaded from their website. (I tried 64 bit installs of Ubuntu 12 and then 13 and while they would see the tablet's file storage, could not get the Toolkit to connect). I went with Lubuntu 13 because it was the "lite" version. The key I have read is going with the 32 bit version.

    2> Open up a UXTERM (terminal window similar to a DOS command window in Windows) and install a couple of required packages for the Android by giving the following commands:
    sudo su
    sudo apt-get install android-tools-fastboot android-tools-adb

    3> Now create a new folder in the /bin folder called IconiaToolkit with this command: sudo mkdir /bin/IconiaToolkit
    4> Now make sure you have access rights to this new folder with command: sudo chown user:user /bin/IconiaToolkit
    in the line above, replace the "user:user" with whatever user name you set up for yourself when you installed Lubuntu (ie: bob:bob)
    5> Now open up internet browser in Lubuntu and download the IconiaToolkit v0.8.1
    6> In Lubuntu, open FileManager PCManFM and double click on the Downloads folder, then right click on the IconiaToolkit.zip icon and say "Extract to" and specify /bin/IconiaToolkit as the destination folder.
    7> Now back in your Xterm window, go to the toolkit directory with the command: cd /bin/IconiaToolkit
    8> Verify you are there with the command: ls (you should see a file called toolkit.sh among other files.
    9> Now per instructions of the toolkits README file, enter the command: chmod +x toolkit.sh <enter> followed by the command: ./toolkit.sh <enter>

    you should now see the menu for the rooting script.

    I selected Option 2 for my A1-810 device followed by Option 1 - Root and then Option 1 again, ROOT FROM SCRATCH.

    Takes about 12 to 15 minutes - but was super easy once I got the correct Linux environment set up.

    All of the credit goes to Eton Jackson for his script and all of the other folks who contribute information to these forums. MANY THANKS to ALL.
    GREAT NEWS Congrats:

    I was doing mine in Windows 8 Pro 64bit.
    The Tool Kit worked just fine as you said, My Desktop seen the tablets hard drive.
    The in the instructions it said that you needed to put a folder that was to be downloaded into a folder in in the ToolKit's extracted file.
    The first time I decided to try it with that folder empty, It ran through the process flawless, But when I checked after reboot it wasn't rooted.

    So I tried putting in the file that was downloaded WHICH I made triple sure was the right file for my tablet.
    In the folder it was to go in inside the extracted ToolKit folder.
    Went through the process, this time it says rooted successfully.
    I rebooted the tablet and that's when it started it's boot loop?

    I know Acer Tablets are different animals then Lenovo's but, I used this same OS on my Lenovo when I rooted it without any problems whatsoever?
    And the two can't be all that different...

    In any event once again I am happy you got yours up and going the way you like it.
    Acer just got my A1-810 at their repair depot today hopefully I'll have it back later on this week.

    Thanks Again: Ricky
    Laziness Breeds Stupidity. ​President John Henry Eden "Raven Rock" Fallout 3.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 388, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered 31 days registered 3 months registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    189033
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1
    Points
    388
    Level
    7
    Device
    Iconia a1-810
    Quote Originally Posted by WasteLandSavage View Post
    GREAT NEWS Congrats:
    So I tried putting in the file that was downloaded WHICH I made triple sure was the right file for my tablet.
    In the folder it was to go in inside the extracted ToolKit folder.
    Thanks Again: Ricky
    How did you make sure it was the right file for YOUR tablet? and where did you download from?

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,681, Level: 38
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered Tagger First Class 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points

    Member #
    157511
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Owenton Kentucky
    Posts
    194
    Thanked
    38 times
    Points
    3,681
    Level
    38
    Device
    Acer Iconia A1-810, Acer Iconia A500
    Quote Originally Posted by swing4thefence View Post
    How did you make sure it was the right file for YOUR tablet? and where did you download from?
    Download Link: [ToolKit] Acer Iconia v0.8.1 ***New: Supporting A3-A10 / New: Pull system.img.gz*** - xda-developers

    To find what version you have go into Settings - About Tablets.

    Hope this helps.
    Laziness Breeds Stupidity. ​President John Henry Eden "Raven Rock" Fallout 3.


 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Questions about rooting a Nexus 7 and rooting in general.
    By MrFastZombie in forum Android Tablet Hacking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2013, 02:11 AM
  2. I'm having issues rooting my acer iconia a100 with ics?
    By ersxo in forum Acer Iconia A100
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 07:04 AM
  3. Advice on rooting Acer Iconia A500 running Android 3.2
    By smallchange in forum Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 06:49 AM
  4. Rooting info, new to rooting. Should I root?
    By Blwnv8 in forum Vizio Tablets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 10:28 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-23-2011, 07:59 PM

Search tags for this page

a1-810 root

,
acer a1 810 root
,

acer a1-810 root

,

acer iconia a1 810 root

,
acer iconia toolkit v0.8.1
,

how to root acer a1-810

,
how to root acer iconia a1-810
,
install update file from tookit iconia
,
root a1-810
,

root acer a1-810

,

root acer iconia a1-810

,
root iconia a1-810
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.