Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Junior Member Achievements:
    250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 31 days registered 7 days registered

    Member #
    35296
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    1
    Device
    Acer W500

    Android on ACER ICONIA w500?

    Has anyone tried tpo install Android on Acer ICONIA W500. It comes with Windows 7 and after I saw the Android version of that (Acer ICONIA A500), I am in love with the Android.
    Anyone knows how can I install Android on Acer? Whcih version? Where to download it from?

    Thanks

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Member Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    31881
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    91
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500
    No you can't, at least for now, different hardware, A500 uses a Tegra2 and the W500 uses an AMD CPU.

    Pete

  4. #3
    Junior Member Achievements:
    100 Experience Points 31 days registered 7 days registered

    Member #
    33571
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    8
    Device
    getting an android 8.4'' next book shipped to me
    I have a w500 and it is great,but I would love to see what all the rage of android is.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,298, Level: 28
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    15033
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    São Paulo
    Posts
    13
    Points
    2,298
    Level
    28
    Device
    Nextel i1 Android

    Exclamation Android X86

    Hey guys, anyone with one iconia W500 could run a test with the Android 2.2 found at Android-x86 - Porting Android to x86 ?

    The org adapt Android to run on netbooks, notebooks and desktops.
    Iconia W500, basically, is a netbook x86 running windows.

    Could anyone try to boot using USB, running tests (graphics, velocity, wi-fi connection, market...) and write here?






    Quote Originally Posted by PeteDee View Post
    No you can't, at least for now, different hardware, A500 uses a Tegra2 and the W500 uses an AMD CPU.

    Pete

  6. #5
    Junior Member Achievements:
    250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered 7 days registered

    Member #
    28340
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by emvbase View Post
    Hey guys, anyone with one iconia W500 could run a test with the Android 2.2 found at Android-x86 - Porting Android to x86 ?

    The org adapt Android to run on netbooks, notebooks and desktops.
    Iconia W500, basically, is a netbook x86 running windows.

    Could anyone try to boot using USB, running tests (graphics, velocity, wi-fi connection, market...) and write here?
    i have done this yesterday it works on the w500 but doesn't recognize the touchscreen etc but is a decent os to run and not to laggy from the usb stick but i dont think its ready to be installed yet permantly

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 52,525, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 50,000 Experience Points 25,000 Experience Points 10,000 Experience Points 1 year registered

    Member #
    28319
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanked
    186 times
    Points
    52,525
    Level
    100
    General question on the W500:

    Is this a normal windows 7 device (like the HP Slate ) that run a normal 32bit Intel compatible version of windows or is is more like a WinMo 7 phone?

  8. #7
    Junior Member Achievements:
    250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered 7 days registered

    Member #
    28340
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6
    its a full window 7 touch tablet....... only problem is that windows makes a crappy touch OS better off going with the android 3.0 version tablet A500.
    i scrapped windows and loaded Fedora 15 Linux and love it but it doesn't do multi touch yet.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,664, Level: 31
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 1 year registered

    Member #
    1643
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Ardmore, AL. USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanked
    1 times
    Points
    2,664
    Level
    31
    Device
    Gentouch78
    Why not install a Linux Distribution on these tablets. Something like ubuntu 11.04

  10. #9
    Junior Member Achievements:
    250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered 7 days registered

    Member #
    28340
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6
    linux cant support multi touch screens yet at best they recognize single point touch my tablet i have installed fedora 15 nd use the eekboard as my on screen keyboard its not that good but works better the any other out there currently.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 52,525, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 50,000 Experience Points 25,000 Experience Points 10,000 Experience Points 1 year registered

    Member #
    28319
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanked
    186 times
    Points
    52,525
    Level
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by eldorand View Post
    its a full window 7 touch tablet....... only problem is that windows makes a crappy touch OS better off going with the android 3.0 version tablet A500.
    Actually, the question was about the processor. I wanted to know if its a Intel/amd instructions set or if its some sort of ARM processor instruction set. Basically if you can download and run any windows standard x86 .EXE file is what I'm looking for.

    I have a windows (Atom processor - fully x86 compatible) Windows 7 tablet from HP (Slate 500), and I disagree with your crappy touch OS assessment. I think HP and Microsoft did an excellent of making full blown Windows 7 run on this small device.

    Its intuitive, responsive, and the ability to run standard windows apps means that it has a lot of business application potential. Plus the learning curve is zero. When you have a bunch of software already written for the factory floor, or Doctor's office, or inventory management, and all that stuff runs on windows, it makes no sense to go hire programmers to re-write the whole thing for Andorid or IOS.

    The biggest problem I see is that the Slate is just a tad too small, and I was looking for something around the Ten Inch size. That's why I was wondering if the W500 could run standard windows .exe files of if it had an ARM processor.


 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Iconia W500 Dual boot with android
    By JabbaDaGrif77 in forum Acer Tablets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 01:55 PM
  2. Acer Iconia a100
    By jwsail in forum Acer Iconia A100
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 09:36 AM
  3. Acer Iconia Accessories
    By it2steve in forum Acer Tablets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 06:01 PM
  4. I love my Acer Iconia
    By av1alicia in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-2011, 10:10 PM
  5. Acer Iconia Android Tablets Release Delayed
    By dandroid in forum Android Tablet News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2011, 02:20 PM

Search tags for this page

acer iconia tab install android
,

acer iconia tab w500 android

,

acer w500 android

,
acer w500 to android
,
android for iconiatab w500
,
android on acer iconatab 500
,
android on acer iconia w500
,
android w500
,
iconia w500 android
,
instalar android en acer iconia tab w500
,
install android on iconia w500
,
install android on w500
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.