Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thanks Tree2Thanks
  • 2 Post By HD87

Thread: How to Factory Reset A500 (What Acer Support Won't Tell You!)

  1. #1
    Senior Member Achievements:
    5,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 1,000 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    30805
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    US
    Posts
    222
    Thanked
    49 times
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500 tab

    How to Factory Reset A500 (What Acer Support Won't Tell You!)

    1. Switch off
    2. Press Vol-up + Power
    3. If display goes on: Release power but hold vol-up
    3. Toggle Lock switch (On>Off>On>Off)

    Screen will display:

    Erasing Userdata..
    Erasing Cache..

    if you can't go to Settings>Privacy>Personal data>Factory data reset..
    Last edited by HD87; 08-04-2011 at 01:40 AM.
    StoneKy and OranL thanked this.

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 54,494, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 89.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 50,000 Experience Points 25,000 Experience Points 10,000 Experience Points 1 year registered

    Member #
    28319
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanked
    186 times
    Points
    54,494
    Level
    100
    Acer support tells a lot of people that. Where did you get the idea it was a secret?

  4. #3
    Senior Member Achievements:
    1 year registered 500 Experience Points 1,000 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    34604
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    'Merica
    Posts
    179
    Thanked
    6 times
    Device
    ACER Iconia A500
    my Tablet is shot to hell.. long story short CWM will load but other than that it stays on the acer screen. i want to 100% wipe the sucker. when i try that ^ it opens CWM.. any advice?
    Acer A500 OC'd to 1.2GHz
    (Hopefully) Samsung Galaxy Media Player 5
    The one and only from Steam to PSN,
    FoFoJoe

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Member #
    72864
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Icebike View Post
    Acer support tells a lot of people that. Where did you get the idea it was a secret?
    I only found this step after a good hour of searching online for a solution that didn't involve enabling USB debugging or plugging in a compatible USB keyboard. I, for one, am extremely glad that HD87 took the time to post this trick.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Member #
    134346
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    8
    Device
    Acer Iconia Tablet A500
    I've tried doing a factory reset on my A500 and after displaying "Erasing Cache", the screen blacks out and it goes back to being stuck on the Acer screen again.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,384, Level: 52
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran Recommendation Second Class 5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points

    Member #
    35054
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Kyneton, Australia
    Posts
    1,031
    Thanked
    70 times
    Points
    6,384
    Level
    52
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Quote Originally Posted by S_Gaskin View Post
    I've tried doing a factory reset on my A500 and after displaying "Erasing Cache", the screen blacks out and it goes back to being stuck on the Acer screen again.
    Reading your posts, it is apparent that your tablet was in the middle of a update - when you turned it off. Unfortunately, you may have to send it in. Or you could try wiping the sucker and sideloading a custom ROM. Allow it to boot up and then follow the instructions how to go back to stock ROM - maybe 3.01 for starters and work back up to ICS. The instructions are on the forum in one of the threads or you could go to xdeveloper forum.
    ICONIA A500

    Galaxy Note 10.1

    I believe therefore I have spoken....

    Be Gronk - bloop bloop nleep nleep swoosh swoosh innajeep.

    Now where is That Simlish Dictionary!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Member #
    179709
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    As sugested above.
    Enter cwm recovery
    Go to wipe menus wipe all
    Go to mounts/storage format all but SD
    reboot go back to format format allnsgain.
    Install your rom
    reboot into recovery.(do not let system boot)
    go back into wipe menus and wipe all. Then boot device.
    Do not allow Google tobrestore your data and settings it backed up (unchecked the boxes when awed while setting upngoogle account) .
    I has a issue withbthis causing the issues you are having.
    Good luck.


    Qmobile Noir A500

    Chics can be geeky smart toolkit whoooweeee
    Last edited by shobi213; 07-22-2013 at 04:19 AM.

  9. #8
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    127963
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    19
    Device
    Acer A500
    Quote Originally Posted by Douvie View Post
    Reading your posts, it is apparent that your tablet was in the middle of a update - when you turned it off. Unfortunately, you may have to send it in.
    Or you could try wiping the sucker and sideloading a custom ROM. Allow it to boot up and then follow the instructions how to go back to stock ROM - maybe 3.01 for starters and work back up to ICS.
    The instructions are on the forum in one of the threads or you could go to xdeveloper forum.
    Hello, my Acer 500 just encountered this issue last night. It was working perfectly fine in the morning. I set it aside and pressed the power button to put it in standby mode. When I picked it up later that night, it responded by freezing on the Acer screen. I've read this thread before, so I was familiar with the initial 2 steps to try and get it working.
    Pressing the reset button didn't work
    Holding volume up while pressing power button/wait for vibration, then toggle lock button-didn't work. "Erasing Cache" appeared, but screen goes back to Acer startup and nothing.
    I am unclear on how to proceed with this sideloading process. Sorry to be a bother, but could someone elaborate on just how that might be done (to someone very technically challenged)?

    Edit--I went to the xadeveloper forum and searched for this Acer issue. Listed there were update files to reload system files. Now I've discovered that my desktop's SD reader isn't working, so I can't copy the file to an SD card to load in the tablet. Would it work if I copied to a USB drive and attempted to load from there?

    Sigh, peaceful, cool Saturday morning blown on sifting thru mounds of info and data...
    Last edited by karbar32; 09-14-2013 at 12:12 PM.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,384, Level: 52
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran Recommendation Second Class 5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points

    Member #
    35054
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Kyneton, Australia
    Posts
    1,031
    Thanked
    70 times
    Points
    6,384
    Level
    52
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Just an update. My A500 has just come up and will not pass the ACER splash screen. So it appears that I will be forced to attempt to root my tablet to get it working. From what I've read on ACER SUPPORT COMMUNITY SITE, it maybe be a fault with the mobo - faulty NAND GATE. So I will attempt to load another rom and root the sucker - don't really want to do it. Hopefully get a few more years out of it.

    Douvie

    Update.

    I downloaded one of those "update.zip" files. Loaded file on to a micro SD. Put the card into the A500 external SD slot. Then booted tablet holding down the VOLUME DOWN button in to begin recovery. And voila!! The A500 lives on. Now I have the great joy of setting the A500 up from scratch and retrieving all my apps. Pity about the data! Well it is a small price to pay I suppose.

    So people it may not be a hardware issue. From what I could determine the OS, somehow, got corrupted.

    Douvie
    Last edited by Douvie; 10-04-2013 at 10:57 PM.
    ICONIA A500

    Galaxy Note 10.1

    I believe therefore I have spoken....

    Be Gronk - bloop bloop nleep nleep swoosh swoosh innajeep.

    Now where is That Simlish Dictionary!

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 6,384, Level: 52
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran Recommendation Second Class 5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points

    Member #
    35054
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Kyneton, Australia
    Posts
    1,031
    Thanked
    70 times
    Points
    6,384
    Level
    52
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    No. Can't use USB stick.
    You probably find that the SD reader in your computer hasn't detected that the previous SD card has been removed. I had same problem. Had to disable and enable in DEVICE MANAGER and reboot PC.

    Douvie
    ICONIA A500

    Galaxy Note 10.1

    I believe therefore I have spoken....

    Be Gronk - bloop bloop nleep nleep swoosh swoosh innajeep.

    Now where is That Simlish Dictionary!


 

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with Acer A500 hard reset
    By kl31 in forum Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2013, 10:03 AM
  2. Need help with Acer A500 hard reset
    By kl31 in forum Android Tablet Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-18-2013, 04:24 AM
  3. Completely bricked acer a500, no bootloader, recovery, factory reset
    By a223 in forum Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 04:04 AM
  4. How to do the factory reset on the Acer A500
    By virgosuperstar78 in forum Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 02:39 PM
  5. Factory Reset? or email reset
    By wronafit in forum Android Tablet Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-25-2010, 07:34 PM

Search tags for this page

a500 factory reset
,

a500 hard reset

,

acer a500 factory reset

,

acer a500 hard reset

,

acer a500 reset

,
acer iconia a500 factory reset
,
acer iconia factory reset
,
factory reset acer a500
,

hard reset acer a500

,
how to reset acer a500
,
how to reset acer tablet
,

reset acer a500

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.