Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
Thanks Tree3Thanks

Thread: Cold Boot ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,331, Level: 41
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    43946
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    216
    Thanked
    6 times
    Points
    4,331
    Level
    41
    Device
    acer iconia A500

    Cold Boot ?

    One of my kids turned my A500 off yesterday after playing a game.
    It took 10 minutes to turn on from the cold boot (correct term? cold boot = powered on from off?).

    Is that normal? It seems like an awful long time.

    Thanks
    Last edited by Spider; 01-13-2012 at 11:23 PM.

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Points: 105,372, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    100,000 Experience Points Veteran Overdrive Tagger First Class Recommendation First Class

    Member #
    23311
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    13,594
    Thanked
    1618 times
    Points
    105,372
    Level
    100
    Device
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted & ManualNooted Google Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB
    That is definitely not normal. Hopefully, someone with an A500 will come along and help you figure out what's wrong.
    If it's important to you, you'll find a
    way. If not, you'll find an excuse.
    If you're too busy for friends,
    You're too busy.
    Attention lurkers! Join the forum,
    and enter Spider into the referrer
    field of the application.The $0.00
    USD fee will be waived.
    People will forget what you said.
    People will forget what you did.
    But, people will never forget
    how you made them feel.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 31 days registered

    Member #
    64513
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    204
    Thanked
    26 times
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    Does it happens all the time? Does the tab shows any signs of software problems?

    Sent From Rob's ATRIX.
    Rob-

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,331, Level: 41
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    43946
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    216
    Thanked
    6 times
    Points
    4,331
    Level
    41
    Device
    acer iconia A500
    Quote Originally Posted by RobKort View Post
    Does it happens all the time? Does the tab shows any signs of software problems?

    Sent From Rob's ATRIX.
    I don't know if it happens all the time, this is the first time it was powered down since the update. I wasn't that long after the update. I thought it seemed like it was getting longer before that, but I wasn't sure. I read somewhere (and it was confirmed somewhere in the forum) that you shouldn't really ever turn them off. So, I stopped turning it off.
    I've been having this problem on both my A500 & Droid X2:
    Livemobile.com Market?
    I
    found the Wrappio website and I think I stopped that, but it may be too early to tell.
    While surfing the web, either stock or Opera, it has a tendency to crash. I've been getting Weather and Media force closes sporadically, mostly since the 3.2.1 update. I didn't think much of the weather and media, I figure it may be a hiccup with the 3.2.1 since that's when they started. Since every time it happens, I send a bug report; I was going to wait and see if it still happens after the next one.
    The browser mostly does it consistently, regardless of which one I'm using.
    Any suggestions are appreciated.
    Thanx
    Last edited by scubaboyc; 01-14-2012 at 07:56 AM.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 16,041, Level: 81
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 309
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 10,000 Experience Points 5,000 Experience Points Tagger First Class 1 year registered

    Member #
    39074
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanked
    501 times
    Points
    16,041
    Level
    81
    Device
    ASUS TF101
    That is a long time for it to boot up. I know on a fresh install (after a Factory Data Reset) that my Asus Transformer boots up in 30-40 seconds. Once I get my apps installed (about 50) the boot time slows to about 60-90 seconds. I used to have 3 minute boot times but had a lot of apps (250+) I did not use so I cleaned them up. If you have a lot of widgets, especially ones on the home screens that need to access the internet (Weather, Movies, Facebook, Twitter) these can also slow down the boot times.

    I restart my tablet when it starts getting a little slow, maybe once a week on average. I would try rebooting it again and seeing if it happens again.
    Spider thanked this.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munchin on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene. - Homer Jay Simpson

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,592, Level: 37
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    62767
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    246
    Thanked
    12 times
    Points
    3,592
    Level
    37
    Device
    Lenovo Yoga 10, Pipo U1pro
    I turn mine off always, boot time should be a minute or less depending on the amount of garbage it has to load.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 54,494, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 89.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 50,000 Experience Points 25,000 Experience Points 10,000 Experience Points 1 year registered

    Member #
    28319
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanked
    186 times
    Points
    54,494
    Level
    100
    Lots of force closing of apps and long boot time can indicate corrupted External MicroSD cards. Put your MicroSD card in a carrier, and pop it into your Windows 7 machine to see if its corrupted.
    Unfortunatly, it can also indicate a corrupted internal SD card, which pretty much takes a Factory Reset to fix.

    Boot time for me is 90 seconds.

    Mine almost never turns off.

    Turning it off simply means I won't use it, I'm not going to wait 90 seconds to check the headlines, or the weather,
    or even to look up movie times, tv schedules, or waste some time playing a quick game.
    People can't message me, I can't get sound notifications of emails. In short turning off a tablet pretty much negates
    everything I want a tablet for.

    There is ZERO advantage to turning off an Android device (or any linux based machine), because its not Windows.

    (and even Windows isn't windows anymore, My Win7 machine runs 24/7, getting a reboot only when Microsoft
    insists, sometimes its gone months without a reboot).
    Spider thanked this.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,331, Level: 41
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    43946
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    216
    Thanked
    6 times
    Points
    4,331
    Level
    41
    Device
    acer iconia A500
    Other than the update, I haven't turned it off in forever. I guess when I told the 9 year old to end his game & get off, he heard turn it off
    So, if it's corrupted, can it be fixed? Does that mean the data will be lost? I'm not to worried about the internal, that's all on the servers/ market. But I've got a bunch of pics & apps on the external. The apps are backups of non-market (SG1 soundboard, Kungfu Panda Puzzle, Cylon Bobble Head to name a few). They were all in the market at one time, but no longer. I'm dont want to loose them.

    Thanks

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 54,494, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 89.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran 50,000 Experience Points 25,000 Experience Points 10,000 Experience Points 1 year registered

    Member #
    28319
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanked
    186 times
    Points
    54,494
    Level
    100
    Well if most of your stuff in on the External MicroSD you are probably in good shape.

    Any of those .apks that you have backed up which were pulled from the market, were pulled for a reason. You may want to think twice about reinstalling them.

    Power down the tablet.
    Pull the External SD card, stick it in a MicroSD to USB converter, such as one of these: Amazon.com: BlueProton USB 2.0 MicroSD / TransFlash Card Reader Writer: Electronics

    Plug that into your computer (Win7 preferably), and it will diagnose any problems and offer to fix them.
    While in your computer, make a copy of the card. No magic here, just drag entire directories off the card onto your hard drive.

    With the microsd still out, see if your tablet will boot.

    If, so, shut down, and replace the microsd back into the tab and see how it works.

    If not,...
    You might want to get a cheap 2gig microSD if you want to proceed to see if you can side load
    a complete OS re-install, you should have HD87 give you some pointers. He's more experienced on the rom loading side
    of things. There are web sites (XDA) where you can download all versions of the A500 software and side load it with
    just the use of a small spare MicroSD card.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,592, Level: 37
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    62767
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    246
    Thanked
    12 times
    Points
    3,592
    Level
    37
    Device
    Lenovo Yoga 10, Pipo U1pro
    I don't use mine everyday so it makes sense to turn it off and save the battery charge cycles, last week I was so busy I only turned it on once to read through some pages on a technical manual.

    On the XDA forums are those official versions of the firmware or are they custom versions? I'd like to have a few versions stored in case I ever have an issue.


 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. cant boot
    By brahma in forum Android Tablet Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-15-2012, 03:29 PM
  2. Won'r boot up
    By Lionheart in forum Android Tablet Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-30-2011, 07:54 AM
  3. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 12:27 AM
  4. Changing boot animation and boot splash images(?).
    By TRGX in forum Gome Flytouch II
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2011, 10:11 PM
  5. LY-706 won't boot
    By lamass in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 06:05 AM

Search tags for this page

acer iconia tablet,cold boot
,
asus tablet cold boot
,
asus transformer tf101 cold boot
,

cold boot android

,

cold boot android tablet

,
cold boot galaxy tab 2
,
cold booting linux tablet
,
force cold start android
,
how to cold boot a tablet
,
how to cold boot an android tablet
,
how to cold boot android tablet
,
samsung tablet cold boot
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.