Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    28323
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL-winter-Where I park RV-summer
    Posts
    12
    Device
    Acer A500

    A500 won't connect to internet

    A500. ICS finally downloaded 2 weeks ago. All appeared well. Don't have the rotate bug. Tonight I cannot connect to internet sites I have bookmarked. I can connect to my wireless router. My laptop and IPad are connecting without problem. DOS user since 1.0, but just enough Android knowledge to be dangerous. Using stock browser and Dolphin.

    DNS problem maybe? Seems like the wireless device is working as I can connect to the router. Signal strength is reported above 90 %. Is there a DNS Cache or something like that I can flush? If so, how?

    Worked ok a couple of days ago. Settings show my highest useage has been News360, but I've used it for over a year. Strangely, I do have one website that will connect, but only that one. Could something be hung on it? I logged out and closed it, but it didn't help. Normal home page will not load.

    Wes

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    28323
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL-winter-Where I park RV-summer
    Posts
    12
    Device
    Acer A500
    Must be some Halloween grimlins in the either. Mid afternoon today I found my IPad and Laptop would no longer connect either. Did a Microsquish repair. Powered down the router and the cable modem, then repowered. Laptop and IPad reconnected. Grabbed the A500, and magic ---- it would again connect to websites.

    It's a real digital mystery to me why only the A500 lost connectivity yesterday, and then nearly a day later it happened to the laptop and IPad. Would seem logical that since it appears the issue was somewhere in the router or cable modem all would have lost connection at the same time. The only wild explanation I can postulate is that the router somehow incurred a gradually deteriorating DNS problem that effected the IP address of the A500 first, and later the addresses of the IPad and laptop.

    Wes

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 18,957, Level: 87
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 393
    Overall activity: 71.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First Class 10,000 Experience Points Recommendation Second Class 1 year registered 5,000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Member #
    77592
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Norcross, GA
    Posts
    4,469
    Thanked
    843 times
    Points
    18,957
    Level
    87
    Device
    Transformer Prime & TF700
    So many people have WiFi connection problems I created a thread just for that. It may be that the router needs to be restarted or a channel changed in the router. Connecting to the router is sometimes the easy part. I have a link to that thread in my signature below.

    Hope it helps.
    Locked out of your Tablet? - Printing from an Android tablet (or phone) - Connecting to the Internet with no WiFi - Move/copy/cut/paste files to and from your tablet - WiFi connection issues - Getting Flash Player
    TF201 & TF700 (stock) with dock, .

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 5,772, Level: 49
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    35054
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Kyneton, Australia
    Posts
    1,016
    Thanked
    70 times
    Points
    5,772
    Level
    49
    Device
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Quote Originally Posted by leeshor View Post
    So many people have WiFi connection problems I created a thread just for that. It may be that the router needs to be restarted or a channel changed in the router. Connecting to the router is sometimes the easy part. I have a link to that thread in my signature below.

    Hope it helps.
    Maybe router needs firmware update.

    But sometimes mobile devices try to grab the same IP as wired devices even though they're using DHCP. I've had this happen numerous times - yeah IT pros reckon it can't happen. I've had the same issue 3 times last week - mobile devices grabbing IPs they should not. One IT guy investigated and found 150 mobile devices (iPhones, iPads, Android Phones and Tablets) grabbing IP addresses they were not suppose to. And that network had a total of 70 wired devices of which 20 were assigned addresses (for servers, routers, MFD's,....). Things don't always work as expected. And those 150 devices were unknown to the IT guy.

    On the A500 one can actually force it to accept a different IP - if it is the one you're having problems with.
    Last edited by Douvie; 10-30-2012 at 12:13 AM.
    ICONIA A500

    Galaxy Note 10.1

    I believe therefore I have spoken....

    Be Gronk - bloop bloop nleep nleep swoosh swoosh innajeep.

    Now where is That Simlish Dictionary!


 

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2012, 03:44 AM
  2. A500 to A500 sync or connect?
    By AlanJAnderson in forum Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 12:27 AM
  3. A500 to A500 sync or connect?
    By AlanJAnderson in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2012, 05:49 PM
  4. Can't Connect to the Internet
    By AlexA500 in forum Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2011, 05:22 PM
  5. Can't connect to the internet
    By LindseyS in forum Augen Gentouch
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 12:54 AM

Search tags for this page

acer tablet not connecting to internet

,

acer tablet will not connect to internet

,
acer tablet wont connect to internet
,
att wireless wont connect tomy acer tablets 2011
,
my acer iconia tablet won't connect
,

my acer iconia tablet wont connect to the internet

,
not able to connect to the internet on an acer iconia
,
why does my tablet sometimes cannot connect to internet
,
why don't my acer android tablet connect to the internet
,
why is my acer tablet not connecting to wifi
,
why won't my acer iconia a500 tablet connect to the wifi?
,
why wont my acer tablet connect to my home router
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.