Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 31 days registered

    Member #
    158646
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    27
    Device
    Asus TF700T

    Using Cell Phone WiFi Setting to Connect Tablet to Internet

    In the last couple of weeks I have been trying to connect to the net using various phones. One was an I iPhone4, one was an iphone5, one was a Samsung Galaxy S3 and 3 of them were HTC phones, two of them android and one of them Windows based. We proceeded by turning on the phones WiFi setting. The iPhone4 said that I was connected but would not get me an ip address. The iPhone 5 would not connect. The Samsung and two of the HTC phones did the same as the iPhone4. Only the Windows based HTC got me fully connected to the internet. We tried using the hotspot setting on most of the phones, but none of them had that service activated. The only thing we did on the Windows phone was turn on the WiFi. Does anyone out there know what needs to be done to make this work? I would like to be able to get connected when I don't have access to a router.

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Developer
    Points: 23,036, Level: 93
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 314
    Overall activity: 71.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second Class 10,000 Experience Points 5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points

    Member #
    61306
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Huntington WV
    Posts
    3,670
    Thanked
    1372 times
    Points
    23,036
    Level
    93
    Device
    Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740, Lenovo A2109
    I have used this app for years, has always worked any every android phone I have installed it on.

    android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting


    My cell phones have been basically routers since late 2009, that is their main purpose, that's why I use sprint unlimited data.
    Last edited by vampirefo.; 12-10-2012 at 09:25 PM.
    If you like my work buy me a coffee!!!

    Donations Appreciated


    Due to the overwhelming PM's that I receive, I am unable to answer all the questions and many questions are duplicates so PLEASE post all questions on this forum so I may better help you and any others who are having the same issues.

    No PM's regarding windows questions will be answered, I am a Linux Guy.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 31 days registered

    Member #
    158646
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    27
    Device
    Asus TF700T
    I checked out your link and it says the device needs to be rooted. Mine is factory updated. Thanks for the info.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Member #
    159369
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    1
    Device
    ASUS TF700
    Quote Originally Posted by biggyrat View Post
    I checked out your link and it says the device needs to be rooted. Mine is factory updated. Thanks for the info.
    My Droid Razr is also factory updated and I didnt want to have to root my phone. I found an app that works without having to root. It's called FoxFi. The free version link is here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...om.foxfi&hl=en

    The free version is fully functional but will disconnect after 30 minutes of use. You will then have to open the app and start it again. Give it a try and if you like it, you can buy the full version for unlimited use. Note that this works for Android phones, not apple. I hope this helps.

  6. #5
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 31 days registered

    Member #
    158646
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    27
    Device
    Asus TF700T
    Thanks, i'll check it out. In the mean time, any other advice is welcome from you guys.


 

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. wm8650 tablet-not phone-won't connect to WIFI
    By gliderider1 in forum WonderMedia WM8650 Tablets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-17-2012, 11:43 PM
  2. Connected to Wifi but can`t connect to internet
    By aazcuy in forum Gome Flytouch II Variant 2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 09:00 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 04:44 PM

Search tags for this page

can i connect my phone to my tablet for internet
,
connect my phone internet to my tablet
,
connect tablet to phone for internet
,
connect tablet to phone wifi
,
how to connect cell phone internet to tablet
,

how to connect my phone internet to my tablet

,
how to connect my tablet to my cell phone internet
,
how to connect phone to tablet
,
how to connect tablet to phone
,

how to connect wifi from phone to tablet

,
how to use cell phone internet on tablet
,
using cell phone to connect tablet to internet
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.