Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1 year registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered

    Member #
    4742
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    7

    Handbrake and movies

    Has anyone played around with Handbrake and put any movies on your Tab yet and what settings have you used ?

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered

    Member #
    7531
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    My experience with converting movies so far

    Quote Originally Posted by rm2092 View Post
    Has anyone played around with Handbrake and put any movies on your Tab yet and what settings have you used ?
    I've used handbrake to rip and/or convert some movies for the tab. It worked well except for one movie which had an AAC 5.1 audio track. The "Normal" profile worked fine for me as far as the video settings go. I've read online that the "High" profile has worked for other people but I haven't tried it out.

    For the movie with the AAC 5.1 audio track, I selected the Stereo mixdown option using the AAC (CoreAudio) codec (available on the Mac version of Handbrake only IIRC). The resulting movie played fine on my Mac but resulted in screeching digital noise on the tab. There is another option available, AAC (faac), but I haven't tried it because I switched to using a couple of other tools.

    As far as I can tell, there is no way to have handbrake copy the video stream (no transcoding) and convert the audio track only. Since the tab handles H.264 video so well, I want to avoid transcoding the video stream in order to save time. AviDemux (free software) allows you to do this. Also, AviDemux successfully mixed down the AAC 5.1 audio track into a video that worked on my tab.

    On my 3 year old white plastic macbook, video and audio transcoding easily takes over two hours, while audio transcoding only takes about half an hour. This works great if your original video file is reasonably sized. You'll probably want to transcode your 10gig 1080p bluray rip at a lower resolution and bitrate.

    I've also started using MKVtools (Mac-only nagware) which seems to be pretty good so far. It doesn't have as many options, but the interface is much more intuitive than AviDemux's interface. I think it only accepts MKV and OGM files as source files though.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered

    Member #
    5370
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    Instead of handbrake have you just tried rockplayer to play videos?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered

    Member #
    7714
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Chron12 View Post
    Instead of handbrake have you just tried rockplayer to play videos?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Totally agree, I have been using Rockplayer to playback 720P video on the Tab since I got it, it looks great.

  6. #5
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered

    Member #
    7094
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    I grabbed RockPlayer on my Tab, but when I try to play any movies and use Hardware Decode it really doesn't work. Software Decode seems to work, but at 5-8 fps.

    Also, will Rockplayer play an mkv that has DTS?

  7. #6
    Junior Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 3 months registered 31 days registered

    Member #
    7531
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by HalfMoon View Post
    I grabbed RockPlayer on my Tab, but when I try to play any movies and use Hardware Decode it really doesn't work. Software Decode seems to work, but at 5-8 fps.

    Also, will Rockplayer play an mkv that has DTS?
    Hi HalfMoon, try using a program to see what video and audio codecs are in your movies and post your results. I use mediainfo (mac) and gspot (pc).

    I've played movies using H.264 (aka AVC) video codec and AAC stereo audio codec on the tab using hardware decode.

    I don't know whether Rockplayer can handle MKV files, but I think I read somewhere that the tab hardware decoder doesn't support DTS audio.


 

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Movies on a tablet for novices
    By bowler866 in forum Telechips TCC8902 Tablets
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 08:51 AM
  2. Movies
    By goldshirt9 in forum Android Tablet Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 01:35 AM
  3. Need a little help on how to download music and movies
    By jakester in forum Telechips TCC8902 Tablets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 06:01 PM

Search tags for this page

download handbrake for galaxy tab
,
download movies from handbrake to galaxy tab
,
hand brake for downloading movies for android
,
handbrake android tablet
,
handbrake copy stream
,

handbrake copy video stream

,
handbrake for android tablet
,
handbrake settings for android tablet
,
handbrake settings for tablet
,
handbrake stream copy
,
handbrake tablet
,
handbrake to android tablet
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.