Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
Thanks Tree3Thanks

Thread: How to format Vpad 10 into one partition and reinstall Windows 7 again ?

  1. #1
    Member Achievements:
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered

    Member #
    110665
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
    Posts
    31
    Device
    Viewpad 10

    Smile How to format Vpad 10 into one partition and reinstall Windows 7 again ?

    Hi everyone from this forum ,

    i am a newbie to Vpad 10 and understand little about formatting , partitioning or installing Windows 7 . i hope someone can help me out by detailing to me step by step on how to format my vpad 10 ( currently 2gb on android primary partition , and also 14gb on windows7 ) and make it / merge into one single partition of 16gb and reinstall windows 7 again . i like use android only with a usb thumbdrive . that way i will have a slightly 2gb more to play with in windows7 . i understand i must copy or download all the drivers first and keep it on a sd card externally - is this true and how do i go about it safely , as i dont want to mess up my vpad. please help me out , many thanks and best regards - jim

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,808, Level: 44
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 142
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    85490
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanked
    13 times
    Points
    4,808
    Level
    44
    Device
    Azpen X1 , HP-Touchpad
    If all you want to do is give the Android partition to the Windows install, you don't have to reinstall Windows for that. You can do it from inside Windows.

    Click on the menu icon in the lower-left corner, and in the search bar enter 'Disk Management'. From that application you would first identify the Android partition, right-click on it, and select 'Delete Volume'. Then you can right-click on the Windows partition and select 'Extend Volume'. This will delete everything on Android partition, but not harm the Windows partition.
    Last edited by waterhead; 05-15-2012 at 06:15 PM.
    jimmunsw thanked this.
    My Tablets:

    Azpen X1
    HP Touchpad

  4. #3
    Member Achievements:
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered

    Member #
    110665
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
    Posts
    31
    Device
    Viewpad 10
    Big Thanks again to you , waterhead , when i boot up , it will boot up android first and if i want to boot up windows 7 then i have to push home button once to move down to select w7 , so if i delete android volume and expand w7 volume , will my boot up be automatically be set active on w7 alone or i have to set it active manually in bios or with some software like a master boot record ? I like to ask this before deleting and expanding the volume . Thanks and regards waterhead - jim

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,808, Level: 44
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 142
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    85490
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanked
    13 times
    Points
    4,808
    Level
    44
    Device
    Azpen X1 , HP-Touchpad
    AH, good thing that you asked.

    I forgot to mention about the boot managers. After you delete the Android partition and give it to Windows, you may need to fix the Windows boot manager. It looks like you will need a Win 7 installation DVD or a system repair CD. Here is a link to a How-To that seems pretty complete:

    Remove Grub - Restore Windows 7 - Windows 7 Forums
    My Tablets:

    Azpen X1
    HP Touchpad

  6. #5
    Member Achievements:
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered

    Member #
    110665
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
    Posts
    31
    Device
    Viewpad 10
    Dear waterhead , i went ahead to delete android volume , then i right click on w7 side and mark partition as Active but then i cannot extend volume , i can only open , explore , change drive letter and paths , shrink volume , properties and help - that's all . This is what my disk management say :-

    Volume - SYSTEM (C , Layout - Simple , Type - Basic , File System - NTFS , Status - Healthy , Capacity - 12.0 GB , Free S - 3.17 GB , % Free - 25%
    , Fault Tolerance - No , Overhead - 0%


    Disk 0 Basic 14.91 GB Online , 2.01 GB Unallocated , SYSTEM (C 12.90 GB NTFS Healthy ( System, Boot, Page File , Active , Crash Dump , Primary Partition )

    When i right click on 2.01 GB Unallocated side it says :- New Simple Volume , Properties and Help
    When i right click on SYSTEM (C side it says :- Open , Explore , Change drive letter and paths , Shrink volume , properties and help

    Please advise me on how to extend my SYSTEM (C to 14.91 GB size . Thanks and regards - jim

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,808, Level: 44
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 142
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    85490
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanked
    13 times
    Points
    4,808
    Level
    44
    Device
    Azpen X1 , HP-Touchpad
    I did it on my tablet, but it was with a partition that was already formatted as NTFS. So, maybe you first need to format it before you can give it to the C: drive.
    My Tablets:

    Azpen X1
    HP Touchpad

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,808, Level: 44
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 142
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    85490
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanked
    13 times
    Points
    4,808
    Level
    44
    Device
    Azpen X1 , HP-Touchpad
    Are you logged in with administrator privileges? The two tutorials I found say just to right-click on the partition. You also could try clicking on the partition, and then going to the 'Action' menu in the upper left corner.

    Partition or Volume - Extend - Windows 7 Forums
    My Tablets:

    Azpen X1
    HP Touchpad

  9. #8
    Member Achievements:
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered

    Member #
    110665
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia
    Posts
    31
    Device
    Viewpad 10
    1) I remembered earlier the 2.01 GB Android side was made active and installed with ext3 format
    2) Yes i logged in with adm. privileges , no problem here
    3) When i right click or use action menu on 2.01 GB side , i can only create New Simple Volume , see Properties and Help , i cannot see any format choice - it is not there , i also cannot click New Spanned Volume and New Striped Volume as it is in grey color - you can see but cant click on these two

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,808, Level: 44
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 142
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    85490
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanked
    13 times
    Points
    4,808
    Level
    44
    Device
    Azpen X1 , HP-Touchpad
    Chose 'Create Simple Volume', that is where it should format it.
    My Tablets:

    Azpen X1
    HP Touchpad

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,808, Level: 44
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 142
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    85490
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanked
    13 times
    Points
    4,808
    Level
    44
    Device
    Azpen X1 , HP-Touchpad
    Does the old Android partition now say 'unallocated'?
    My Tablets:

    Azpen X1
    HP Touchpad


 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 11:57 AM
  2. How to make partition & reinstall Viewpad 10pro ?
    By shuvro in forum Viewsonic Tablets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 11:57 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2011, 01:20 PM
  4. HOW TO instal windows 7 to viewpad 10 (vpad 10) ?plz help me ?
    By mody4889330 in forum Viewsonic Tablets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2011, 01:20 PM
  5. Format Internal Partition
    By jb7038 in forum Nook Color Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2011, 10:47 AM

Search tags for this page

can you run windows 7 from an sd card on a vpad10
,
format viewpad 10s
,
formatar viewpad 10s
,
formater vpad10
,
how to reload vieewpad 10s
,
partition hard drive on viewsonic dual 10
,
viewpad 10 format
,

viewsonic vpad10

,

vpad format

,

vpad tablet format

,
vpad10 drivers
,
vpad10 windows 8
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.