Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    25439
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    15
    Well, take a look at the global cache wifi2ir device with the touch squid app. I am working on using that with the fire to run my HT

    -R

    Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

  3. #12
    Junior Member
    Member #
    96314
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    in a house in the midwest
    Posts
    1
    Device
    VIZIO vtab1008
    The VTAB1008 does have an IR sensor... in the form of the onboard camera (which sucks goats I might add). Just open the camera app sometime and point a remote at it, you will see the flashes plain as day. I really REALLY hope some developer will make an app that will utilize this as a way to program non-listed remotes. Hell, if I knew how to program apps, I would be working on it right now! How many of you would GLADLY pay 20 bucks for a GOOD, WORKING remote app that will work on the VTAB1008? I would gladly pay double that.

  4. #13
    Member
    Points: 4,528, Level: 42
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 1,000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    92072
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    94
    Thanked
    16 times
    Points
    4,528
    Level
    42
    Device
    VTAB1008
    There is also the light sensor which is next to the volume button. I loaded up a tester program and aimed my remote at it. The sensor readings shows it must be detecting the ir blast. It seems to have a higher refresh rate than the camera so would probably work better at capture of remote control codes.
    I am not a conspiracy nut.

    The government secretly started that rumor to discredit me.

  5. #14
    Member Achievements:
    500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 31 days registered 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    71962
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    91
    Thanked
    8 times
    Device
    HTC Evo, Vizio Vtab
    Here's an idea. This should work pretty good. Turns any android or apple device into a remote. Plus you can change it from other rooms. This would be great for home theater setups where there is no line of sight for the ir blaster.

    Logitech Harmony® Link

  6. #15
    Junior Member Achievements:
    31 days registered 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 1,000 Experience Points

    Member #
    94811
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    Thanked
    10 times
    Device
    Vizio VTAB 1008 , Xperia X10 Mini Pro
    Dijit Universal Remote


    Check this out and this

    GoFlex Remote Control

    and this

    reYmote Lite

    Please use the thanks button if I helped you
    Last edited by rockingdo; 03-01-2012 at 02:49 AM.
    _______________________
    Model : Sony Ericsson XPERIA X10 Mini Pro
    Kernel : nAa-11
    ROM : Android 2.3.7 MiniCM7 (2.1.9)
    _______________________
    Model : Vizio VTAB 1008
    Info : Offical 2.6.35.7+ Kernel and ROM


    Don't forget the thanks button!

  7. #16
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 31 days registered

    Member #
    96809
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Petaluma, California
    Posts
    29
    Thanked
    5 times
    Device
    VTAB1008
    I just got my Vizio VTAB a few days ago. The Remote Control app is terrible. I had a long conversation with a Vizio tech support person who admitted the problems. He also told me that a major update was in the works that would solve many of the problems I raised. Whether or not that will include learning he didn't know or wouldn't say. What got me was that, although every device I have is in the database, most of the screen layouts did not provide what is needed to operate the device! What is needed is a PC-based editor that will allow for customizing screens, implementing macros, etc. No technical reasons that I can see that would preclude doing this. It would make the VTAB competitive with the $2000 - $3000 devices by Crestron, URC and others.

  8. #17
    Super Moderator Achievements:
    50,000 Experience Points Recommendation Second Class 25,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 10,000 Experience Points

    Member #
    12338
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    5,174
    Thanked
    899 times
    Device
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    No technical reasons at all for Vizio shipping such a poor remote app and from a TV manufacturer to boot! The bottom line is they simply didn't want to put any time into the software and only provided a basic remote. The code probably isn't even theirs and is some generic universal remote code. In reality the software support from Vizio is generally terrible, for the remote and the whole device. It is clear that this tablet is a test the waters tablet by dipping the toes and not wanting to get wet. See here Tight lipped.
    Nexus 7
    Nook Color -
    (SD): 1. CM7 7.1.0, 2. CM7 7.0.3 Encore
    (eMMC): CM10 Nightlies
    Nook Tablet 16GB: Jelly Bean
    VTAB1008: Rooted Gingerbread

    Android OS Help & How To

    “Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them.” - Albert Einstein

  9. #18
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 31 days registered

    Member #
    96809
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Petaluma, California
    Posts
    29
    Thanked
    5 times
    Device
    VTAB1008
    I don't think there is any other software available. That said, I spoke to Visio tech support about it, and the agent told me a new release was coming out soon that would fix many of the problems. Obviously, they are aware of the current apps lousy performance.


 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. problem with remote control
    By zsir in forum Vizio Tablets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2011, 10:35 AM
  2. The New way to remote control your PC!
    By Imperio in forum Android Tablet Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2011, 10:25 AM
  3. Remote Control
    By Iceman2006 in forum Motorola Tablets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 03:07 PM
  4. Remote Control of Nook?
    By sgaumont in forum Nook
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 08:44 AM
  5. Remote Control Nook?
    By pbrauer in forum Android Tablet News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 09:11 AM

Search tags for this page

does samsung galaxy s2 have infrared
,

galaxy s2 infrared

,

galaxy s2 ir

,
galaxy s2 ir remote
,
ir for galaxy s2
,

novii remote android

,
noviiremote android
,

samsung galaxy s2 ir remote

,
vizio ir remote
,

vizio ir remote app

,
vizio tablet ir codes
,
vtab1008 remote control app
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.