Register Hello & Welcome to AndroidTablets.net, is this your first visit?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Junior Member Achievements:
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    61288
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    11
    The hard reboot brings you to the screen I was talking about above. This screen came up every time I started the tablet.

    So I called Vizio and they just told me to try the procedure for setting back to factory settings. I gave up and returned it to Costco last night and got a new one..

    Now I have to reload all my apps

    Thanks for everyone's input.

  2. # ADS
    Ads
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #12
    Junior Member Achievements:
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    61288
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by BPisMe View Post
    Same problem here...stuck in recovery. Just before the blue triangle sign, it says "Updating Device Please do not power off your Vizio Tablet" Mine is rooted too. It has been rebooting normally after rooting. I disabled (froze) the Vizio Update Service a couple of days ago and I think that may be the problem. I've tried looking for a signed update.zip file but no luck so far. Maybe someone who has root could look to see if it's on their device in the cache/recovery folder.

    Patience is a virtue...Brad
    I did freeze the Vizio Update Service as well. Maybe that is the problem. I used "Bloat Freezer".

  4. #13
    Senior Member
    Points: 5,637, Level: 48
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 3 months registered 31 days registered 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    55309
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanked
    46 times
    Points
    5,637
    Level
    48
    Device
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    I have frozen "Vizio Update Service" with Titanium Backup Pro but no problems so far. It's been a couple of days.

  5. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,740, Level: 24
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 500 Experience Points 1,000 Experience Points 31 days registered 3 months registered

    Member #
    61549
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    10
    Thanked
    2 times
    Points
    1,740
    Level
    24
    Device
    vtab1008
    Yes it does sound just like what the tech had me do.

  6. #15
    Senior Member
    Points: 3,943, Level: 39
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 1,000 Experience Points 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    47944
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Posts
    244
    Thanked
    50 times
    Points
    3,943
    Level
    39
    Device
    Visio VTAB1008
    Quote Originally Posted by BPisMe View Post
    Same problem here...stuck in recovery. Just before the blue triangle sign, it says "Updating Device Please do not power off your Vizio Tablet" Mine is rooted too. It has been rebooting normally after rooting. I disabled (froze) the Vizio Update Service a couple of days ago and I think that may be the problem. I've tried looking for a signed update.zip file but no luck so far. Maybe someone who has root could look to see if it's on their device in the cache/recovery folder.

    Patience is a virtue...Brad
    Quote Originally Posted by joey2169 View Post
    I did freeze the Vizio Update Service as well. Maybe that is the problem. I used "Bloat Freezer".
    Quote Originally Posted by rprr View Post
    I have frozen "Vizio Update Service" with Titanium Backup Pro but no problems so far. It's been a couple of days.
    I have frozen the update service with Titanium Backup with no issues. I have restarted the VTAB a number of times since then - no problems.

    I looked in the cache/recovery folder and there was only a single log file (last.log). The log showed that the cache had been wiped.

    Perhaps others can check? Someone who has purchased the VTAB recently? IIRC part of the auto-update process is a reboot which may wipe the update file.

    Quote Originally Posted by swynkoop View Post
    How are you trying to hard reboot? Mine lost video and audio and I had tech support walk me through the hard reboot. The procedure is unlike any that I found published anywhere. I recall that you start by holding down both the on/off switch and the volume control at the same time, but I forget the details from there. Anyway, if you just did the software reboot, it apparently doesn't reset to factory settings. I'm still afraid of the rooting process, so I hadn't.
    Anyone else getting a procedure from Vizio please document the steps so that you can share it.

    Also please carefully document what you do to your VTAB after root so that we can figure out what is causing issues for some of users.

  7. #16
    Senior Member
    Points: 5,637, Level: 48
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    5,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 3 months registered 31 days registered 100 Experience Points

    Member #
    55309
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanked
    46 times
    Points
    5,637
    Level
    48
    Device
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    BPisMe and Joey2169 -- After root can you tell us what sort of things you did that required root? Did you do the internal/external SDCARD swap as discussed in this post?

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/vizio-tablets/26457-sd-card-mount-point-modification-discussion-post-root.html
    Last edited by rprr; 11-24-2011 at 02:53 AM.

  8. #17
    Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 1 year registered 500 Experience Points 3 months registered 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    62963
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    35
    Thanked
    3 times
    Device
    Vizio VTAB1008
    The only things I did after rooting were Freezing the Vizio Update Service and installing an NTP client to keep correct time. I don't remember which program I used to freeze the update service but it was not Titanium Backup. BTW: I returned my vizio and will be getting a new one when I can find one in stock. (so much for patience!)

    Brad

  9. #18
    Junior Member Achievements:
    1 year registered 500 Experience Points 7 days registered 31 days registered 3 months registered

    Member #
    66260
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Device
    Vizio 8" Tablet
    What is the advantages of rooting?
    I understand what it would do to my stock nookcolor but why would I want to root my Vizio?
    Thanks

  10. #19
    Senior Member Achievements:
    1,000 Experience Points 3 months registered 500 Experience Points 31 days registered 250 Experience Points

    Member #
    63611
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    121
    Thanked
    14 times
    Device
    Vtab1008
    Quote Originally Posted by MikFinkel View Post
    What is the advantages of rooting?
    I understand what it would do to my stock nookcolor but why would I want to root my Vizio?
    Thanks
    - fix adhoc tethering
    - fix sd card issue
    - install Samba Filesharing
    - install Titanium Backup

  11. #20
    Junior Member Achievements:
    31 days registered 3 months registered 250 Experience Points 100 Experience Points 7 days registered

    Member #
    63042
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9
    Dang... I froze the vizio update service on mine (not using titanium - some other program someone suggested in another thread). Now when rebooting all I get is the recovery menu. Anyone have any luck unfreezing the vizio update service so the tablet will boot again?


 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Ads:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Dead G tablet
    By alphac3 in forum Viewsonic gTablet
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 08:44 AM
  2. Help!! My Tablet is dead
    By cellexpert in forum Android Tablet Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 05:21 PM
  3. tablet dead , model ?
    By hollywood in forum Gome Flytouch Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 04:36 AM
  4. Tablet dead - not rooted
    By Shydz in forum Viewsonic gTablet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 08:44 AM
  5. Help - Dead tablet
    By kalohepirate in forum Rockchip RK2808 Tablets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2010, 05:07 AM

Search tags for this page

hard reset vizio tablet

,
how to reset a vizio tablet
,

how to reset vizio tablet

,
how to unfreeze vizio tablet
,
reboot vizio tablet
,
recall on vizio tablet
,
vizio locked up
,

vizio tablet hard reset

,

vizio tablet locked up

,
vizio tablet reboot
,

vizio tablet recall

,

vizio tablet reset

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Android Tablets.net is not affiliated or associated with Google, Android Project or any of the device manufacturers listed on this site.
We are simply an enthusiast site.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.