3.2 Invalid Update

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by LanceThruster, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. LanceThruster

    LanceThruster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I've tried installing the 350MB 3.2 update 4 times now and I'm getting 'invalid update' every time.

    my tablet is not rooted, an with NZ's crap internet, all this retrying is killing me.

    Any ideas on how I can get this update to take?
     
  2. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Yeah, my daughter has the same problem. I had no problems with mine. Any ideas anyone. Her tablet is not rooted either, nor is mine or my wife's. My wife has not done her update yet.
     
  3. redcloud

    redcloud Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Anacortes, Washington 98221
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tablet A500
    Was the update the offical Acer update??? If not, that may be the reason for rejection.
     
  4. LanceThruster

    LanceThruster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    yep, official. It's the tablet system update that's pompting me to install it
     
  5. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    yy
    Yes, as LanceThruster said, it is the official ACER update. Acer_a500_7.006.03_COM_GEN1. 12 hours before it installed fine on mine. My daughter has tried 3 times. I wounder if there has been some corruption in the update download file. All our tablets here are stock standard - they have not been rooted.
    :confused:
     
  6. insane

    insane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Auckland
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I had the same issue with my NZ one, after about 6 failed attempts i force closed all non system applications and the upgrade went through without issue
     
  7. LanceThruster

    LanceThruster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Just tried that, thanks. still failed for me though.
    I might have to do a full factory reset and then try again...... :confused:
     
  8. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    Doing a Factory Reset is easy.

    Just follow the instructions carefully in updating your Tablet.

    But first, a Friendly Question (Also reminder):

    Did you completed the required date neede and register your Tablet on Acer website?

    Maybe that's the reason why you didn't get the update successfully via OTA even it's official.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  9. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Yeah registered all three tabs the same day. The solution to the problem is to do a Cache clear and a full reset. After this no problem - my daughter's tab updated fine.
     
  10. LanceThruster

    LanceThruster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    yep, full reset did the trick
     
  11. 2wheelsagain

    2wheelsagain Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500 32gb
    This latest update took 4 tries to crack it. 3.1 went in on first try. Unrooted Aussie here with slow 1500k net access!
     
  12. koorpen

    koorpen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    Is it really necessary to do a full reset (starting all over installing apps :( ) and what about "Just follow the instructions carefully in updating your Tablet." Have I missed something re instructions cause I havenĀ“t seen any more instructions as those coming with the upgrade (if you can call that instructions).
     
  13. koorpen

    koorpen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    Tried now 5_6 times to update, all failed. Cleared cache and factory reset done (CRM) unrooted but as I said, update failed:mad: every time.
    I updated the kernel a while ago, could that be the problem? (2.6.36.4 thor v1.15)
     
  14. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Ya Think?!!??

    Come on!

    You HAD to know when you updated the kernel that this was going to happen. Why act so surprised?
     
  15. wicced247

    wicced247 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryosmid7024
    Hmmm.... glad my A100 came with 3.2 and also glad i did not update kernel.. I'm rooted though, would that stop my update to 4.0 IceCream Sandwich when it comes out?

    Sent from Wicced's ROOTED Acer a100 16GB Honeycomb 3.2
     

Share This Page