3g mobile Network key question....

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Q&A' started by Mongy, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Mongy

    Mongy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    i have a 10.2" tablet PC that runs on a Android 2.1 OS. I love it, its the perfect E-reader, and, has replaced my laptop as my mobile PC....

    It has 3 USB ports, and, should be able to accomodate a mobile internet 3g key, but, the ones available say Windows or MAC os only. Any ideas on what I can do or if they will work on the Android OS?
     
  2. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    The A81-E by Wits is the only one where I have read about some compatibility/capability. I posted an earlier thread about my testing and experience. It looks like it should work. But, unless there is a person who has written a code set that recognizes the 3G modem and initiates "calling" then it is a no go. There are tablets sold with 3.5G slots, but those are the only ones I know which have 3G compatibility. External compatibility requires a person with the itch and desire to write that bridge code. It may be harder than it sounds. I am not a coder. I am more of a HW modder/ reverse engineer type.
     
  3. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    In your specs you have 3G listed. All you need it 3G router using one of those 3G dongles from Wireless Carrier or Do you want to connect tot he USB Dongle to your Tablet?
     
  4. Bee

    Bee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I have the ZT-180 running android 2.1 firmware version 0827.

    I have a ZTE 3g dongle that i am trying to use and dont know how to get it to work on this.

    @ Mongy, do you have the same problem?
     
  5. Bee

    Bee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    anyone any ideas how to work 3g stick once inserted?
     
  6. desertbears

    desertbears Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    DFW
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 32 , Itouch 4
    I have a Archos 32 & I tried plugging in a Tmobile Rocket usb modem & it recognized it but no internet yet. Thinking of installing PDAnet maybe that will work.
     
  7. eheart

    eheart Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Looking at the Mach trio at tigerdirect but it does not specify a webcam/camera in the specs. Does anyone own this? Does it have a camera? Is it worth buying?

    Anything else I should consider? Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

3g dongle setting3g dongle settings

,

android tablet network key

,

trio not reading 3g network dongle