3g usb modem needed

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II Accessories' started by thommo599, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. thommo599

    thommo599 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Tablet / Device:
    SuperPAD
    Hi all,

    New to the forum as recently got this android pad for xmas.

    I'm trying to locate a 3g USB device to work on this but don't want to purchase one and find it doesn't work.
    I think I have a SuperPAD as that is what's on the box with a 10.2" screen
    The start up displays infotmic and then says powered by wowpad.

    inside the settings i have
    model number deb
    firmware 2.1-update 1
    kernel version 2.6.32.9 hzhao@emma #1
    build number deb-r2.1.1170

    At no point apart from the box does it mention SuperPAD. I have seen one identical to mine called a Flytouch 2.
    My wife bought it for me as a present to use for work, I think she had to order it from China, and I only need to use it to view my own pdf docs which I'm happy doing but occasionally I need to download files and it would be easier for me to download them when needed rather than download them at home later on that day.


    Any help would be great.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2011
  2. elister

    elister Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Seattle
    Tablet / Device:
    10" WowPad - ARM 1Ghz - 256MB RAM - 2GB NAND
    Go to a Sprint store, ask to try out a demo USB 3G Modem. Alot of companies re-brand Sprint service as their own 3G USB service, typically for 40$ a month. If it works in the store, should work with any re-branded USB modem you buy.

    While most USB modems, you just plug it in and wait a minute to get a connection, no matter what device you connect it to, the tablet may need to be manually be configured (either via 3g Config App or settings). So make sure the clerk understands what a DNS/DHCP server is before you show them the tablet. The second the understand that its a Hong Kong import, they may turn you away. Ive had an ATT clerk show me the door when I asked for a case for my 4.3" Media Player (HK Import).
     
  3. GuiTTo

    GuiTTo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
  4. fancyui

    fancyui Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    You should know what network are you going to use first, WCDMA or CDMA2000 EVDO, all tablets make in China are only support some 3G modems.
     
  5. thymox

    thymox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Plymouth, GB
    Tablet / Device:
    10" Infotmic
    I have a Huawei E1550 which curiously gets detected and the 3G options become enabled, but doesn't get any further.
     
  6. thymox

    thymox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Plymouth, GB
    Tablet / Device:
    10" Infotmic
    OK, got a little further with this. On standard Linux systems the same happens unless an extra entry is added to the udev rules. It seems that the E1550 reports itself as a USB CD drive and USB storage device (the internal MicroSD slot on the E1550) and will report itself as the appropriate serial devices only once a particular tool (called usb mode switcher) is run... and that is what the extra udev rule does.

    Now, if I could cross-compile usbmodeswitcher and figure out what Android uses instead of udev... then I might be cooking!

    Wish me luck. :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. min10-2008

    min10-2008 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Looking @ Samsung Galaxy Android. Own Windows PC Laptop & iPad

    Hi if you can find the build/Kernel you should be able to work out which 3G USB is reqd. If the pad is fr China, it's currently their New Year & most suppliers & factories are shut till 12th Feb, so don't stress if you've sent an email & they've not responded yet. I've been looking @ the Flytouch II Aka Superpad on eBay & have got an Huwaei E122 (EC122 everywhere else but Aust). Have been advised by the seller it will work on this pad, along with some ZT's & a few others. But pls research to the end degree before committing to anything for connection to the net. Good luck
     
  8. katiedash

    katiedash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    pa
    Tablet / Device:
    superpad with google android 2.1 os
    i have the same unit and was wondering if the verizon mifi will work
     
  9. Appychappy

    Appychappy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    australia
    Tablet / Device:
    infotmic superpad 2.1
    Good luck mate
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

3g doungle for infotmic tab

,

modem untuk wowpad

,

what type of router and modem is needed for android tablets