A couple of questions

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by kechamb, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. kechamb

    kechamb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    Just bought the vizio for my wife and have a couple of questions. first I know with my droid phone if it locks up I sometimes need to do a battery pull to fix and obviously you cannot do that on the vizio. If it does lock up how can you fix the problem. Next does anyone know what the screen is made of? I know Vizion uses gorrilla glass on other products and thought maybe the tablet screen was the same.
     
  2. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    The tablet's glass is... well... glass. I don't know if it's "gorilla glass," whatever that is, but it is glass. And the absolute best and easiest thing to use to clean it? A microfiber cloth. In fact: My wife cut one up into four squares, each of which she's going to finish the cut edges on.

    My tablet locked up on me, for the first time, last night. (Actually, if I'd chosen "kill," instead of "continue," when it told me the browser was locked-up, perhaps it wouldn't have.) I long-pressed the power/sleep button, shut it down, powered it back up and all was well.

    Jim
     
  3. kechamb

    kechamb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    Thanks for the reply, hopefully will never have the problem but like to know in advance what to do. For your info Gorilla Glass is made by corning and is more "scratch resistant" that regular glass. I have it on my droid 2 and it is becoming popular with many different devices.
     
  4. walrus

    walrus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Like you I also have a OG Droid, and like my Droid I have found that you either need to reboot it or do a full power cycle, off then back on, I have been told that doing so clears the caches that you can't clear. I do not know if what I was told is correct or not but I do know that it works for you both of my droids and my vtab. Hope this helps you.
     
  5. hardsell

    hardsell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    archos 5 it 500gb (given away), vizio 8 inch, Kindle DXG (sold), Archos 7 + Archos 70 (returned)
    is a lock up just a freeze or a more of a bsod?

    my screen freezes every session I use it

    I have _everything_ turned off but coolreader and that freezes no page turns either direction no getting to menu and then it snaps out of it on its own after 30? - 45? seconds and lets me read
     

Share This Page