A pair of questions regarding Disgo Tablet 6000, DG2.2, and Text-to-speech

bronson

Aug 29, 2011
Hello guys,

a few days ago i bought from Amazon a Disgo Tablet 6000, which included Android 2.2. Probably the main purpose i wanted to give the tablet was to use the Text-to-speech function that is bundled with Android, for various reasons.

So after spending a few minutes with the tablet, i was extremely baffled to see that the Voice output option wasn't present among the rest of the settings. After trying many different Text to speech software and installing various voice engines (PICO, SVOX, etc), i still couldn't get it to work. It was as if that version of Android had the option disabled and didn't allow any other software to use it.

So considering that i bought that tablet almost specifically for that matter, i was and currently am, pretty frustrated and desperate.

As I am an Android noob, i haven't got enough skills to try and enable that option manually via commands, if that's even possible, so as a last resort, i started to contemplate the option of doing that gorgeous tutorial you guys have to manually update the tablet to DG 2.2.

Having that said, before doing anything, i wanted to ask you people a pair of questions:

1) Is there any potential risk of having a brick because i'm updating the tablet from a 2.2 to a different 2.2 instead of 2.1 to 2.2?

2) Most importantly, does the DG2.2 firmware have the text-to-speech/Voice Output enabled? Because if it doesn't, it wouldn't make much sense to do the update.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Kind regards.

Jv90

Apr 23, 2011