A2109 looses Internet connection on wakeup

Discussion in 'Lenovo IdeaTab A2109' started by brucer, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    I've had my A2109 for about a week and I have only one major complaint so far: After pressing the power button and swiping the lock screen my wifi shows connected but I cannot connect to websites or email. To resolve that I have to open Settings and toggle WiFi off and back on. Then it's all good till the unit goes back to sleep. In addition to being inconvenient to have to do that I run the risk of missing emails, as well as calls and texts that come in through the Talkatone VOIP app. Anybody else have this issue or an idea how to solve it?
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  2. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,743
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I am not having this problem, perhaps your router is dropping your tablet.
  3. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    932
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    There should be a setting under settings - WiFi - upper right corner tap the 3 squares keep WiFi on during sleep, set to always. Do keep in mind it will eat your battery alive,. ;)
  4. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    When I tap the 3 squares I'm offered 'Advanced' and all that shows is 'Network notification', 'MAC address', and IP adress' with no option to keep wifi on during sleep.
  5. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    I suppose that's possible and I'll look into the router but the router never drops anything else, including a Kindle Fire HD and two Galaxy 2 tabs. I wonder what is different about the A2109. The signal strength is excellent as I'm close to the router and even when the tab won't connect to the internet it does show connected to the router.
  6. flashallthetime
    Offline

    flashallthetime Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Tablet / Device:
    ideatabA2109
    You should have keep WiFi on always under advance options, could be a ROM issue, I have no idea if you are running ICS or jb or if you are running either mine or MCL ROM but that option to keep WiFi on always should be available $uploadfromtaptalk1359338277483.jpg

    Sent from my IdeaTabA2109A using Tapatalk HD
  7. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    Mine looks similar to that EXCEPT the Keep Wi-Fi on during sleep item is missing. I am running stock ICS out of the box and don't want to mess with that till my 14 day return period is up in 8 more days. BTW, I don't have a HDMI item under Device.

    Android 4.0.4
    Kernel 3.1.10
    Build A2109A_A404_02_05_120918_CA
  8. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    I'm installing the OTA JB update now... maybe that will fix it.
  9. doomboss
    Offline

    doomboss Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo IdeaTab A2109
    Yeah probably the ROM's problem since we all have the WI-FI setting but you. OTA JB update should fix the problem. Hope everything works again for you after the update :)
  10. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    Thanks, I'll post back later with the result.
  11. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    Just finished the OTA JB update and now I do have the same settings screen as shown above. Now I have a bunch of apps updating so I'll see how the wifi behaves after that.
  12. brucer
    Offline

    brucer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii USA
    Tablet / Device:
    lenovo A2109
    The JB update went well and the wifi issue appears to be resolved without even using the never sleep feature. Thanks to all for your help. Seeing that screen shot showed me that I needed to do the upgrade.
  13. doomboss
    Offline

    doomboss Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo IdeaTab A2109
    Nice! Glad that you have your wifi working normally again!
  14. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,743
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Glad your problem is fixed, I don't have this problem on ics or jb.

Share This Page