A500 and iPhone 3GS

levies

Aug 13, 2011
hello everybody
I'm new to android and i would like to have access to internet through my iPhone 3GS
using bluetooth or usb connection and personal hotspot function of the iPhone 3GS.
I do it using my windows laptop and works fine.
How can i achieve this with A500?

Thanks

Stavros

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
If the 3GS personal hotspot acts as a normal router you should be able to just add it as a hotspot under Wireless and Networks. But if the personal hotspot acts as a ad-hoc wireless network, it probably won't work unless you root the tablet and replace one of the files. See Tethering app in the sticky posts at the top of this forum.

There is normally no DHCP server in a ad-hoc network, so you may have to manually assign a ip address even after you get it rooted.

Last edited:

HD87

May 14, 2011
If the 3GS personal hotspot acts as a normal router you should be able to just add it as a hotspot under Wireless and Networks. But if the personal hotspot acts as a ad-hoc wireless network, it probably won't work unless you root the tablet and replace one of the files. See Tethering app in the sticky posts at the top of this forum.

There is normally no DHCP server in a ad-hoc network, so you may have to manually assign a ip address even after you get it rooted.
Before I did have to setup a static IP, since the 3.1 update it now connects with DHCP.

Last edited:

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
Before I did have to setup a static IP, since the 3.1 update it now connects with DHCP.

What IP do you get?

Are you sure it isn't one of these ?
Even a disconnected Windows/Linux machine gets one of those.