A500 connect it to Plasma TV with Micro HDMI to regular HDMI Cable

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by MRClark_A500, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. MRClark_A500
    Offline

    MRClark_A500 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Panama
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    Hello all,
    I have bought a cheap micro HDMI to Regular HDMI Cable, In order to connect my Acer Iconia A500 to my 47" LG Plasma TV. The situation is when I connect the tablet to the TV only shows a black screen and a green Android logo.
    The Tablet recognizes that is connected it thru HDMI but the tv only shows the green android.
    Somebody knows why? is the cable defective? or, the tablet needs some type of settings that i dont know?
    Please let me know if there is something that i am doing wrong.
  2. gonzo88
    Offline

    gonzo88 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTab
    maybe this helps. i had a Vizio VTab with a cheap cable and it wouldn't show right on my LCD, had a bunch of color lines! had to buy one that said "works on Phone" or something like that and it worked perfect! it also worked on my old Acer A500.
  3. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Like Gonzo88 says, you can either get a tablet rated cable, or just buy a REGULAR HDMI cable, not one with custom ends.

    Then add a HDMI to Micro HDMI converter.
    $41gxNr1RbsL._AA300_.jpg
    Maybe from Amazon You can get these for under a buck.

    When I used this combination it just worked out of the box. No tablet settings necessary.
  4. rjm2140
    Offline

    rjm2140 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I bought the same type of cheap cable from eBay and it works fine. Whatever is on the tablet screen shows up on my 40" plasma TV. I did not have to make any changes to my stock A500. What do you see on you tablet screen while your TV shows the android figure?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
  5. Tanzanite
    Offline

    Tanzanite Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Tanzania
    Tablet / Device:
    10' Android 4 Tablet
    Hi Mr. Clark,

    I could be wrong but if the Android Logo is clearly displayed on you TV then it is most likely an issue with the tablet or the software you are using.

    Some movie players have an option to specify that you want HDMI out, so try to see if that will resolve your problem.
  6. Justinappi
    Offline

    Justinappi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a500
    I had the same exact problem and solved it....My TV kept displaying the green android guy. It still does. Can't use my A500 with my tv. The problem is your TV. The A500 outputs 720p from it's HDMI port and your TV won't accept it, Your TV can't figure out that it has to step down from 1080 to 720. I tried my A500 on two different TVs and it worked perfectly. The problem is not the cable or the A500..... It's your TV. Try a different TV. Hope this helps.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android Tablet Forum
  7. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Wait, are you sure you don't have that backwards?

    Any tv that can do 1080 will also do 720. But a older 720 tv may not have 1080.

    The Acer has has 1080p on the HDMI port since the release of 3.1. (Allegedly) Of course this requires 1080p source files, because the Acer isn't going to up-convert on the fly.
  8. rjm2140
    Offline

    rjm2140 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I connected my A500 to a new HDTV capable of 1080 that shows the resolution of the applied HDMI input. What I found was that the A500 seems to output 720 when displaying the desktop and when when playing movies from Netflix. I'm using a 20 MB/s cable connection, so bandwidth isn't a problem. Hidef TV stations show as 1080. So it looks like our hidef HDMI output isn't full hidef.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
  9. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Well, yes the desktop image can't exceed 720p because the display is physically WXGA (1280 x 800).

    But if you have properly encoded movies you are supposed to be able to get output of 1080p 1920×1080 to the HDMI port.

    I'm not sure I could prove this with what I have on hand. If your TV reads out the actual stream it is receiving over HDMI You might hook it up to your TV and then play the Trailer in this thread: http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...32725-choppy-1080p-video-wifi.html#post180451
    (just select the Standard Gallery as the player when you click the link)

    I'd be interested to see what it shows the resolution of that movie is.
  10. drozas
    Offline

    drozas Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    san diego
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a 500, OG Droid
    I have an old vizio 720p TV and it also does the same thing. My ps3 works great on it, yet my tab shows the Andy figure when I attach my tab via micro HDMI. My ps3 doesn't have a single game that throughputs at 1080p. Movies yes. Games, no they are all 720p. I was looking for help as well. I'm a chef and would love to do presentations without a laptop or work station. I'm lazy. That's why I do what I do. Haha.

    Sent from my A500
  11. rjm2140
    Offline

    rjm2140 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Icebike, I tried your trailer link but still only got 720 using the standard player & also with the Mobo player.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
  12. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Very interesting.
    Which version of the OS are you running on the Acer?
    I wonder if Acer is lying about 1080p...?
  13. rjm2140
    Offline

    rjm2140 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I'm running the stock 3.2.1.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
  14. heluther
    Offline

    heluther Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Palm Coast FL
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    When Iattach the HDMI cable to the TV it works fine until I actually attempt to stream a video at which time it gives me a message that the HDMI cable has been disabled. I am still able to see content from the website and it will show the ads as well. What do you think?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
a500 hdmi output
,
acer da220hql android hook up to tv
,

acer iconia a500 hdmi

,
acer iconia hdmi connection
,

acer iconia hdmi port

,
can i connect acer icona to tv
,

connect acer iconia tablet to tv

,

connecting iconia a500 to tv

,
how do i connect my acer a500 to my tv
,
how do i connect my tablet to a tv
,
how to connect acer a500 to tv
,
how to connect acer a500 to tv hdmi
,
how to connect my acer tablet to the tv
,
how to hdmi acer tablet a500
,

how to use hdmi on acer iconia

,
iconia a500 hdmi
,
iconia a500 hdmi output
,
mini hdmi cable fit issues with iconia tab
,
saida hdmi tablet acer a500
,
why wont my acer tablet work on my tv