acer a500 update...3.1 to 3.2, having problems..any help?

detz

Jan 3, 2012
this is my first post, just joined, i'm new to this blog. I'm having a problem d/Ling new sys update to 3.2. I've read some older post from ppl saying about changing tablet sleep time to 30 mins, which i tried, to stop update from saying invalid update when trying to install d/L'ed update. It didnt work. Does anyone know of anything else i could try to get this update to install? Any help would be very appreciated!

detz

Jan 3, 2012
thank you probbiethe1 for replying. I have to admit..i'm a little scared to try and root my tablet. i have only had it for less than a week and this is my first tablet. i checked out your link and read the article, but before i try that, i'd like to know/understand why the upgrade wont install and if there's any other alternatives.

probbiethe1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 30, 2010
Well my question is why do you want to upgrade in the first place? Because if there isnt anything in the new update that you want then just rock 3.1 and enjoy it. I personally root every device I ever get usually the day I get it and then I never accept over the air updates. Custom roms are usually better then ota updates any ways but thats just how i do things

detz

Jan 3, 2012
I dont know what the update will do/what its for. Everything works fine as is, so as they say.."if its not broken, dont try and fix it!". Could you tell me in what way the custom rom you mentioned is better?

Dr0id

Jul 19, 2011
Hello Detz, I had the same problem upgrading 3.1 to 3.2 OTA, just leave the tablet with the power supply next to the wifi router when the upgrade package is being download.
I recommend you to upgrade it if you want to have the device without mods.. Also when you feel ready to move on, you may go back to 3.1 and apply custom roms. Regards!!

detz

Jan 3, 2012