add shortuct to home

sheryltoo

Nov 9, 2012
I wanted to add a shortcut to my home page for a website I go to every day but it's grayed out. Can you not add shortcuts for websites?
I just bought this tablet today so I'm still learning.

Frederuco

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 6, 2011
It depends on which browser you are using. Some browsers allow you to just create a shortcut on your home screen, other browsers you need to bookmark the site, then manage your bookmarks and send the link to the home screen.

If you let me know which browser you are using, I will see if I can get more detailed instructions for you.

sheryltoo

Nov 9, 2012
Gosh, I don't even know what browser I'm using. I just clicked on the internet icon and opened what ever is pre installed on the tablet. I'm still feeling my way around so I don't even know where I could look to see what browser I'm using.
It must be the default, what ever that is.

Frederuco

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 6, 2011
Using the stock browser, on the address bar there is a star.

Tap the star. On the pop up window, enter the label you want it to say, and make sure the address is correct.

The account doesn't much matter.

Where it says Add To: select Home screen and hit OK. Then it should be on your home screen somewhere.

sheryltoo

Nov 9, 2012
Ok. I got it. There wasn't a line that said "Add to" but there was an arrow next under the folders tab and when I clicked that, it gave me the option to put the link on the homescreen.
Thanks.

Frederuco

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 6, 2011
Ahh, might be the difference between ICS browser and Jelly Bean Browser.

Glad you got it sorted out.

Also, welcome back to Android. I have heard the Note is a nice tablet.

sheryltoo

Nov 9, 2012