After rooting, what features are left, and what features are gone?

lowmann

Apr 28, 2011
Hi, glad to join this forum.

I bought two nook colors for my children, and have a couple of questions before doing something on them.

I really like the way a nook color is, I mean, I want to keep it as it is.
However, doing some web searches, there might be permanent changes on it and never works as it should.

I wonder what those things are.

Can I still keep its screen and the way it looks? Can I download or purchase books and apps via its pre-installed store? Or can I install Android market on it so I may download or purchase thousands of apps directly on it?

I'm a beginner of beginners on nook color. Understand my dump questions.

Thanks.

AnimaTechnica

Nov 4, 2010
rooting basically unlocks the 'hidden' portions of the nook - it lets you use the android market so you can download apps that would have been unavailable to you

rooting might also install a 'launcher' - that is to say an app that serves as the interface for the newly rooted nook. this launcher changes the look somewhat of the nook - but by pressing the home button (typically the 'n' button) you get the option to select which launcher to use -the stock nook (in other words what came with the nook when you bought it) or the new rooted one - so you see you still maintain the functionality

to sum up you really don't lose anything but gain a lot more

I bought two nook colors for my children, and have a couple of questions before doing something on them.

I really like the way a nook color is, I mean, I want to keep it as it is.
However, doing some web searches, there might be permanent changes on it and never works as it should.

I wonder what those things are.

Can I still keep its screen and the way it looks? Can I download or purchase books and apps via its pre-installed store? Or can I install Android market on it so I may download or purchase thousands of apps directly on it?