An idiot after a guide.....

endaf

Sep 11, 2012
Hi all, recently joined, after some help from you guys.
Recently bought myself an used Onda Vi40, generally happy with it but i cant seem to download a lot of the apps im after, saying its not compatiple with the device etc.
Ive looked on line & it seems i need to update the firmware for UK spec etc but im a total newbie to all this & this is my 1st tablet.
can any of you kind people out there give me a totally idiots guide to getting the Onda to work on the UK version of android play & be able to browse the internet correctly etc.
Am i able to do it all through the tablet or would i need to use a desktop computer 1st etc?
Any & all help given is hugely appreciated.....

Endaf

helluva66

Jul 16, 2012
Hi,

I am in the exact same place as Endaf. I have read and tried everything I can to upgrade the firmware on my Onda vi40 Elite v3 without success, because I am not familiar with the terminology or processes others are familiar with. I love the Elite, but it has app startup issues and browser lags.

I too would appreciate a total idiot's guide to upgrading my Onda.

Thanks so much in advance!

helluva66

James2205

May 28, 2012
Hi both and welcome.
There is a very good guide on the topnotchtablets website - A10 Firmware Images and Instructions | www.topnotchtablets.com
You need a program called Livesuit - Install Livesuite - A10 Firmware Flashing Utility | www.topnotchtablets.com
These instructions are for V3 Onda vi40 Elite - endaf you will need to clarify this - there are details on this forum as to how you do that.
You don't have to use the TNT custom firmware, but I do and in my opinion it is a decent option and gives you pretty good access to the various apps you will probably want.
Good luck...
James

helluva66

Jul 16, 2012
Thanks James for your response! I am running version 4.0.3 and was able to upgrade from Gingerbread to ICS sometime after I bought the Onda.