Android Firmware Update Problems ...

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by vja4Him, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    Last night I went ahead and took the plunge ... Updated the Firmware on my Archos 70 Internet Tablet 250GB (2.1.3 - Android 2.2.1).

    My tablet still worked after the update. Slower than before though.

    This morning I found out that I can't get online!

    None of my four radio apps work (they all worked fine before).

    Bible.is no longer works.

    All three of my browsers no longer work.

    Firmware Update doesn't work (can't connect to the Internet).

    Wi-Fi shows that my Archos is connected to my Internet service. My son and I are both online with our computers, so there is nothing wrong with our Internet connection.

    Looks like I have no choice now, but to reformat the Archos and start all over again (for the 4th time!!!!) .... That will be very time consuming, as I will have to download all of my many apps all over again, and then reload all of my files all over again ....
     
  2. TapNClick

    TapNClick Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I did the update last night. It seemed to reboot about four times before the home screen finally showed and then it took another minute or so before any icons appears. But now it works fine. In fact, I'm actually seeing it display more signal strength then it did before from the bedroom in my home that is the furthest away from by wireless router. I did find that there was one file manager that no longer works. I'll just have to find another one that does.
     
  3. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    I had to reinitialize my Archos, and start from scratch again. Tablet is working, but keep losing WiFi. Nothing wrong with our Internet (three other computers online with no problems). Have to keep rebooting, so I can get a connection again.

    I'd like to know how I can go back to the previous Firmware ....
     
  4. android4tablet

    android4tablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I'm afraid the problem is the firmware, do you get the official firemware?
     
  5. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    I figured the problem is with the Firmware Update. Yes, the Firmware I installed is the official Firmware. I tried both methods: update from the Archos tablet, and then again downloaded the Firmware Update from Archos to my MacPro, then transferred to the tablet and did the update again.

    WiFi is still very unstable. Connection only lasts for a few minutes, then I have to Reboot. Also, the tablet shuts down all on its own, even when I'm not touching it at all! Strange ....

    Hopefully the next Firmware Update will resolve these issues ....
     
  6. hougie

    hougie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    101tablet
    Same problem overhere..... I have full Wifi connection but still no connection....All my others devices (laptop,phone) works fine just Archos won't connect.I also have the latest official firmware downloaded..... pfff
     
  7. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    I tried this:

    Settings,
    Wireless and networks,
    WiFi Settings,
    WiFi On
    Hold down on your active network till a window pops up.
    Select Modify network.
    You may have to scroll the next window up, but look for Disable Powersave.
    Put a check in that box if there isn't already on there.
    Tap on Save.

    and now my WiFi is working again with a rock solid connection?

    Called Archos Tech Support and they help me with the settings, so now the power button will turn off the screen:

    > Settings > Applications > Development > Take a Screenshot (turn off)

    Now, my tablet is running more smoothly. Looking forward to the next Firmware Update, hopefully with fewer bugs ...
     
  8. bigblue206

    bigblue206 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    I updated my Archo 70 250gb the other day and while it did reboot the Archos screen a few times (which started to make me nervous after seeing a few posts on here) but then it finished loading and it is running great. The wifi is much faster and connection is much better. I beleive the update allows the Archos to now use wireless N which is wasn't allowing before.
     
  9. Snyperx

    Snyperx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    MADtown, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Still evaluating
    Something to try is a full format of the device. Keep in mind this will DELTE ALL DATA on your tablet. This will wipeout everything and essentially "brick" your device temporarily. Do the following steps to load a clean copy of the firmware.

    1. Download latest firmware image from Archos.
    2. Plug tablet into your computer
    3. Transfer image file to tablet
    4. Reboot tablet into recovery mode
    5. Select load firmware
    6. New firmware should load
    7. Enjoy fresh and clean tablet

    Keep in mind I created this from memory, so the wording may not be exact on every step. After I did a fresh load my issues with downloading were res loved. I am guessing this is related to the wifi acting up after the original attempt at upgrading. Tablet has been running fine since the fresh install. Hope this helps.
     
  10. hougie

    hougie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    101tablet

    Tried but with no result....
    I hope I did it correctly because english is not my motherlanguage but it still won't work..... Full charge of the wifi but no conection while my other devices work fine
     
  11. hougie

    hougie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    101tablet

    I tried to do it like you said but then I get in recovery "please connect DC-in tot update your device"....
    What does that mean?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  12. hougie

    hougie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    101tablet
    Ok,I just had to put the charger on so never mind the post above.....
    Anyway,I went through all the steps you talked about,have a "clean" tablet now but still no internet connection... Full WIFI connection but I'm not able to connect on the internet. I've mailed archos but I guess I won't get an answer that rapidly.
    Just have sit by and wait for another update I guess and that's frustrating because I can't use the tablet
     
  13. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    You might want to try calling Archos Tech Support ....
     
  14. hougie

    hougie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    101tablet
    Hmm,I live in Belgium and I'm not calling a number in the states...
     
  15. hougie

    hougie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    101tablet
    Ok I solved my prob but created another one!
    I've put an older firmware on it (2.0.7) and wifi and internet works fine but now I'm not able anymore to download apps from market...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
archos 7 please conect dc in to update your device
,

archos 70 internet tablet 250gb firmware archos 70 internet

,
archos 80 cobalt wi fi connection problems
,
connect dc-in to start the update
,
connect dc-in to update
,
please connect dc in to update your device
,
update android firmware over wifi
,
what is dc in updating archos 101 firmware
,
what is dc-in in archos tablet