Android on ACER ICONIA w500?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by latif99, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. latif99
    Offline

    latif99 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dubai
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer W500
    Has anyone tried tpo install Android on Acer ICONIA W500. It comes with Windows 7 and after I saw the Android version of that (Acer ICONIA A500), I am in love with the Android.
    Anyone knows how can I install Android on Acer? Whcih version? Where to download it from?

    Thanks
  2. PeteDee
    Offline

    PeteDee Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    No you can't, at least for now, different hardware, A500 uses a Tegra2 and the W500 uses an AMD CPU.

    Pete
  3. mikeb916
    Offline

    mikeb916 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Tablet / Device:
    getting an android 8.4'' next book shipped to me
    I have a w500 and it is great,but I would love to see what all the rage of android is.
  4. emvbase
    Offline

    emvbase Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Tablet / Device:
    Nextel i1 Android
    Hey guys, anyone with one iconia W500 could run a test with the Android 2.2 found at Android-x86 - Porting Android to x86 ?

    The org adapt Android to run on netbooks, notebooks and desktops.
    Iconia W500, basically, is a netbook x86 running windows.

    Could anyone try to boot using USB, running tests (graphics, velocity, wi-fi connection, market...) and write here?






  5. eldorand
    Offline

    eldorand Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have done this yesterday it works on the w500 but doesn't recognize the touchscreen etc but is a decent os to run and not to laggy from the usb stick but i dont think its ready to be installed yet permantly
  6. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    General question on the W500:

    Is this a normal windows 7 device (like the HP Slate ) that run a normal 32bit Intel compatible version of windows or is is more like a WinMo 7 phone?
  7. eldorand
    Offline

    eldorand Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its a full window 7 touch tablet....... only problem is that windows makes a crappy touch OS better off going with the android 3.0 version tablet A500.
    i scrapped windows and loaded Fedora 15 Linux and love it but it doesn't do multi touch yet.
  8. tecwizrd
    Offline

    tecwizrd Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Ardmore, AL. USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Gentouch78
    Why not install a Linux Distribution on these tablets. Something like ubuntu 11.04
  9. eldorand
    Offline

    eldorand Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    linux cant support multi touch screens yet at best they recognize single point touch my tablet i have installed fedora 15 nd use the eekboard as my on screen keyboard its not that good but works better the any other out there currently.
  10. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Actually, the question was about the processor. I wanted to know if its a Intel/amd instructions set or if its some sort of ARM processor instruction set. Basically if you can download and run any windows standard x86 .EXE file is what I'm looking for.

    I have a windows (Atom processor - fully x86 compatible) Windows 7 tablet from HP (Slate 500), and I disagree with your crappy touch OS assessment. I think HP and Microsoft did an excellent of making full blown Windows 7 run on this small device.

    Its intuitive, responsive, and the ability to run standard windows apps means that it has a lot of business application potential. Plus the learning curve is zero. When you have a bunch of software already written for the factory floor, or Doctor's office, or inventory management, and all that stuff runs on windows, it makes no sense to go hire programmers to re-write the whole thing for Andorid or IOS.

    The biggest problem I see is that the Slate is just a tad too small, and I was looking for something around the Ten Inch size. That's why I was wondering if the W500 could run standard windows .exe files of if it had an ARM processor.
  11. eldorand
    Offline

    eldorand Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes it can run any windows programs from any normal ordinary software company....
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  12. mickeyjun
    Offline

    mickeyjun Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    ny
    Tablet / Device:
    acer w500
    I've been trying to get this accomplished for awhile now. Please tell me the procedure to set up the SD card. I used unetbootin to create SD image. But i doesn't boot properly. The SD card was formatted FAT32. I also tried FAT, it when a bit further. but no luck. Android x86 now has ICS (alpha). The ACER W500 would be the test tablet, having the best of both worlds.
  13. joshclarke90
    Offline

    joshclarke90 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Sony Tablet S
    Haha I've been through this problem. I bought a Windows tablet out of excitement and ended up purchasing an Android tablet. There's something so special about Google's OS.
  14. diiorio
    Offline

    diiorio Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500 series
    Because of AMD versus Tegra cores, it not a good option. The AMD cpu is also not as cut out for 3d graphics. Also Acer will have a Tegra 3 Nvidia CPu/GPU combo soon. You can emulate older android OS but not fully, nor smoothly.

    AMD however is combining a ATI CPU/GPU better combo based on their combined specs, which will be designed for mobile 7 specifically and can change things.

    I just liek the ease of Android, and I can use a mouse/Keyboard with the acer fine.
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  15. mickeyjun
    Offline

    mickeyjun Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    ny
    Tablet / Device:
    acer w500
    AHA! I got it to work, Acer W500 running both windows7 and Android 4.0.3. - the best of both worlds. There are a few issues, but I think most of these issues will/can be resolved once the video card conflict is resolved. Here's a quick list of issues: video flickers from time to time, camera force closes, many high quality graphics applications and games do not open, and the screen becomes unreadable after the unit wakes up from sleep. Besides these, the android is working great: the wifi is stable, multi-touch screen is very responsive (upto 4 points), sound, and multi-tasking.
  16. terrymc
    Offline

    terrymc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    acerw500
    can you supply how to and a link for the Android OS 4.0.3 I would greatly apreciate it.
  17. thorrnado
    Offline

    thorrnado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer W500
    link: Http://www.android-x86.org/download

    you should use the 4.0-RC1 version, which is the latest at this moment, and use the "AMD Brazos" type, because that is specifically made for the AMD C50 processor of your W500

    i've typed this response using the x86 Android 4.0-RC1 " Brazos" version, and it's working just fine.
    As other users already pointed out, there are some issues like the flickering screen, but i'm sure these will be fixed.

    Enjoy!
  18. mickeyjun
    Offline

    mickeyjun Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    ny
    Tablet / Device:
    acer w500
    We are on RC-2... I'm setting it up, let you all know...
  19. Douvie
    Offline

    Douvie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    It runs everything windows 7. My boss has one, he bought his after he saw my A500, and he uses msoffice on there. As for keyboards, it gives you 3 options
    USB kbd
    On Screen touch kbd
    Or the keyboard dock - then it looks like a net book.

    I just don't like it.

Share This Page