Android Tablet Newbie Needs Shopping Advice

ringwitharose

Mar 22, 2011
Hello all! I'm new to the android world and after swimming through countless review videos on Youtube, blogs and other news articles and websites I've come here for help because I still have no idea!

Long story short, I'm in the market for a tablet. I have an iPhone but I'm not really sold on the iPad, it seems glorified, cocky, and not very good for what you pay. So an android tablet seems like the way to go. Naturally, the cheaper the better, but I also understand you get what you pay for. I don't currently own anything android so I have some questions about that too...

Android OS questions:

1. Can you download files (like e-mail attachments for example) to your "desktop" like a normal computer?
  2. Conversely, can you upload files onto the internet through the normal "browse" button and file selection also like a "normal" computer?
  3. Are there programs that can be installed? Like .exe files? If so how many and how does that work?
  4. How is the android app store? Lots of Apps? E-readers?
  5. Can iTunes work on it? Having an iPhone I do have a lot of apps and songs and I was wondering if there is any support for iTunes on the tablet?
  6. How well does the office suite work on Android?
  7. Can you have two windows open at once side-by-side? Like have word in one window and an internet browser in the other and have them next to each other.
Basically my focus is how much is android like a "normal" PC, what software functionality am I sacrificing by having a tablet instead?

Moving on... I was wondering if anyone could recommend me a tablet model, or models. Here's what I'm looking for:

• USB Port(s)
  • HDMI/some kind of tablet to projector/TV hook-up
  • 7" ish screen, I could go up or down depending on price difference
  • Expandable memory through card ports
  • Front and back facing cameras
  • Accelerometer, with that horizontal and portrait keyboards