Anybody have the 3.1 update yet?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by theallspark, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. theallspark

    theallspark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    hey guys, just wondering if anybody here received the 3.1 update yet? coz I heard that acer will be rolling out the update today (June 23,2011) right? care to share some noticeable difference?

    Thanks guys! :)
     
  2. taichimaster

    taichimaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    acer tab a500
  3. v62cobra

    v62cobra Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    The Xoom is getting it as well.... in Europe. I think that they are the lab rat before it hits U.S. shores.....
     
  4. suade907

    suade907 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Not yet, eagerly waiting fixes for numerous bugs.
     
  5. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Nothing here yet. I'm mildly interested, but frankly haven't seen any "numerous bugs" that are worth worrying about, since there will be always be bugs.
     
  6. MrBlazito

    MrBlazito Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    looks like China is getting the update first.
     
  7. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Allegedly.

    Wait for the official push. Who knows what that "leaked 100% real" version on XDM is. Reading the thread I can see a lot of problems.

    There is nothing earth shattering in the next update that you can't live without for a few days.
     
  8. achebee4you

    achebee4you Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    tampa
    Tablet / Device:
    iconia
    Ill be travelling to italy with layover in munich can I do an ota

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  9. LTCSZ

    LTCSZ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia
    Will I have to do anything or will I be notified of the update automatically since I have "Auto Update" turned on? Thanks,

    Steve
     
  10. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    You should get it automatically, although it might be a little later (hours) than if you check Setting / about tablet/ system update.

    In the past, on android devices, I've had updates show up when I checked, even though I had auto-check turned on. I think it only checks once ever so many hours or something.

    It will be all over these boards when it finally pushes out, so you aren't likely to miss it.
     
  11. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia
    can't even install the last update that shows up as available.. always fails to install.. i hope i can install 3.1 when it's out
     
  12. nrage23

    nrage23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Veiwsonic Gtab
    Check out XDA! I am running 3.1
     
  13. v62cobra

    v62cobra Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Are you rooted?
     
  14. ArtTJ

    ArtTJ Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Tijuana
    Tablet / Device:
    A500
    Let me give you all a tip, the reason why you cannot update or sometimes install is becuase you don't have enough free space on internal memory, have at least 2.5 gb free, otherwise it will not install programs or updates, try it.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  15. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia
    My 8gb sdcard is almost empty, the OTA update currently available to me 1.139.04 is 29mb or so.
    not rooted, as far as i know, nothing removed either.. just stock standard iconia as bought from store... with a few apps downloaded... update fails
    i tried without the sdcard in as well.. same thing
     

Share This Page