Anyone have Skype working?

Discussion in 'Acer Tablets' started by pbuder, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. pbuder

    pbuder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I just picked up my A500 and so far it has been a positive experience. The only problem I have so far is with Skype. It will make calls but no video can be seen on either side. I am running stock with the latest ota. I could root if I have a reason to but wasn't planning to.

    Using gtalk or other programs are out of the question as it would be to difficult to explain to the over sea side of the family. We can't change till the next visit.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. scubaboyc

    scubaboyc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    According to the app description, it is currently not supporting video at this time. There's a more detailed thread somewhere.
     
  3. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    Maybe you could launch two applications at the same time like what we did when I'm still working abroad in KSA and maybe it will work too.

    I'm speaking of Yahoo Messenger (YM) for the video and Skype for the voice.

    The reason I did that because sometimes there are some days of difficulties in communicating if both voice & video seems not working very well (sometimes delayed in video and I already heard the voice 15 seconds after that).

    So, what I did is, I used the YM for the video and voice on Skype; on that way, I can see what i'm listening and at the same time, I can see it. It has a little delay of 2 or 3 seconds and for me, I'm satisfied to the outcome.

    Let's see if this kind of procedure work out while waiting for the Skype to improve their system or the program updated for Tablets.
     
  4. leeh007

    leeh007 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    napier,nz
    Tablet / Device:
    a500
    Have you tried Google talk?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. Doublesixes

    Doublesixes Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Location:
    NULL
    Yahoo Messenger does not support the A500
     
  6. scubaboyc

    scubaboyc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    According to Skype.com, the A500 does not get video calling because of the Tegra 2 chipset. From the sound of it, most tablets don't get it.
    Is this something that can change or are we stuck with it?
    Thanks
     
  7. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    Skype should do something about this matter. Most people are using Skype as communicating their friends and loved ones especially those who far from their home.

    Google Talk is blocked somehow in this country (Algeria) and Yahoo Messenger has limited connection or maybe it's just restricted by our IT.

    If that's the case, they (Skype programmers / creators) should look into it.
     
  8. wicced247

    wicced247 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryosmid7024
    Gtalk works great with no problems

    Sent from Wicced's ROOTED Acer a100 16GB Honeycomb 3.2
     
  9. JasmineCassie

    JasmineCassie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Maybe you should test the function of your camera, take a pic and then try to logon your MSN, give it a try .
     
  10. scubaboyc

    scubaboyc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    According to the update for Skype I got today, the A500 is "white listed". Does that mean it will work now?
     
  11. CanuckDroid

    CanuckDroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    A100
    Yes, it works now. You just need to go into your Skype settings and place a check mark beside "Enable video calling".
     
  12. Patriis

    Patriis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Malta
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    seems some have skype video working and others not. I'm with the latter group. Have enabled video calling on my a500, i get the camera icon but when i place a call there is no video. quite frustrating as this was one feature i was looking forward to.
     
  13. philnur

    philnur Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A501
    Just downloaded the latest version. Did a video call to my Pc and it all worked ok - reasonable picture and sound. It got a bit flakey when I tried changing cameras within a call and locked up ringing once. Otherwise it is a good start. Did it on an Iconia A501 16GB
     
  14. ymia

    ymia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    CA
    Tablet / Device:
    101
    Gtalk, skype, MSN used for the tablet communicated tool, i also suggest you choose the Gtalk is enough, even your family over the sea.
     
  15. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Skype should be working on all Tegra2 devices.

    One glitch I have noticed is that the call connects, but no video. If you tap the screen and then tap the video camera icon in the lower right hand corner and tap "Front Camera" it should start your video feed.
     

Share This Page