Anyone knows if it's possible to share phone's internet connection with Vizio Tablet?

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by jose94, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. jose94
    Offline

    jose94 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    I own the htc hd2 and apparently it allows me to share my internet connection with other devices but I haven't been successful at figuring it out on my Vizio Tablet. Anyone has any idea of how this is done? Or Any links to any tutorials on how to do this. I would love to be able to go online anywhere with the Tablet.

    I appreciate your help :)
  2. sora72
    Offline

    sora72 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
    Many higher end phones have the wifi hotspot app that let other devices connect to it and use its 3g/4g data connection. But most providers charge $20 - $30 per month.

    If your phone is rooted and runs a custom wifi tether app, you can bypass the provider's wifi app which requires the monthly charge. Of course, rooting voids the phone's warranty and many people consider the use of a custom wifi tether app as stealing.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Android Tablet Forum
  3. eski15
    Offline

    eski15 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB 1008
    I have been able to use my iPhone 4 hotspot using WiFi on the Visio. Works really well. Didnt need any tutorial just paired them and it worked!
  4. lghitis
    Offline

    lghitis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With a rooted phone, you can easily get an app to tether from the phone for free.
  5. kb2vyz
    Offline

    kb2vyz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somers Point, NJ
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby-Kyros-MID7022-4G
    To use your phone as a wifi hotspot for your tablet or any other Android device, you will need to download ZT-180 or any other ad-hoc connecting type apps. I have been using ZT-180 Successfully for some time now.

    Frank

    Sent from my MID7022 using Android Tablet Forum
  6. anealysr
    Offline

    anealysr Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pollock, La.
    Tablet / Device:
    vizio tablet
    I use freeteather on my palm pre to connect my tablet

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
  7. marvin02
    Offline

    marvin02 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    Most android phones won't create or connect to an ad hoc network unless they are rooted/running a custom ROM.

    Recent Android phones do have a wifi hotspot setting that can be used to connect the VTAB to the internet. Do some research if you want free tethering (which will probably violate your carrier's TOS agreement) or pay the tethering fee that the carrier's charge which varies for $15 to $30 a month on top of your data plan.

    edit: This might help - a tutorial for using the wifi hotspot in Android. Note - using this method may incur extra fees from your carrier.
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2011
  8. jhaynes1230
    Offline

    jhaynes1230 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need anything special other vtab, but you do need hotspot capability from your provider. I use Verizon and pay for hotspot over 4g lte on my htc Thunderbolt phone. Once you have that configured you just connect the vtab as you would to any wifi.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
  9. jose94
    Offline

    jose94 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    Thank you all for your responses. I figured out how to set up my phone's wifi router and I can connect on my laptop but I still don't know why my vizio tablet doesn't show it on the wireless networks list. I must be missing somethin :(
  10. dornstar
    Offline

    dornstar Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet 8
    Easy. Root your android phone and use the Wifi Tether app.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
  11. kincer
    Offline

    kincer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pa
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB
    Hello all, new guy here, I have the original MOTO Droid 1 and its rooted and I have the Barnacle WiFi tether app, works great with my laptop but my VTAB wont detect it, how can I get it to work?
  12. droid_dude
    Offline

    droid_dude Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem. I am able to tether OK to my laptop using my rooted Moto Droid but the VTAB does not seem to find the hotspot. It never comes up in the Available Wireless Networks list.

    Is there some other trick or setting that I am missing?

    THANKS!
  13. marvin02
    Offline

    marvin02 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    Barnacle creates an ad hoc network - many devices will not connect to an ad hoc network. You would need an app on the VTAB to allow ad hoc to work, and probably a rooted VTAB. You need to use an app on the phone that creates a wifi hotspot with an SSID - in other words turns your phone into a router.
  14. SEMIJim
    Offline

    SEMIJim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    And the VTAB is one of them.

    Jim
  15. jhaynes1230
    Offline

    jhaynes1230 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have a phone with hotspot capabilities and have it enabled with your carrier there is nothing required on the vtab. You connect to your hotspot as you would any other wifi. I do this all the time with my htc Thunderbolt and Verizon. That's how I'm connected now.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
  16. sora72
    Offline

    sora72 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
    I can connect to my Droid X's hotspot just fine, everytime.
  17. kincer
    Offline

    kincer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pa
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB
    My phone is a Droid 1 and I guess its a ad-hoc network, I need to figure out how to get the Vtab to see a ad-hoc network.
  18. droid_dude
    Offline

    droid_dude Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I discovered a had a similar problem with my nook color. I could use my rooted Droid 1 for a hotspot on my laptop but not my nook color.

    I found this link that solved the problem:

    [FIX] AdHoc Wifi support on the NC! - xda-developers

    It fixed the problem perfectly, but this solution requires a rooted device which unfortunately is not the case for the VTAB.

    If we could gain root (superuser) access for the VTAB, I am sure this would solve our problem.
  19. ktackel
    Offline

    ktackel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    VTab
  20. droid_dude
    Offline

    droid_dude Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks for the tip! However, I just tried this and unfortunately I get the same result (no hotspot detected).

    Can you please let me know what settings you used for the Wireless Tether app? Did you change any of the default settings (e.g. channel, SSID, access-control, wake lock)?

Share This Page