[APK] Komik Reader - CBR/CBZ Comic Reader for Tablets

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Apps' started by kaycha, May 13, 2011.

1. kaycha

kaycha Member

Tablet / Device:
    Xoom
    Hi all,

I am a long time lurker, first time poster (software engineer by trade - artist and ux/ui afficianado). I wanted to announce the launch of my app - Komik. It is a CBR/CBZ reader (soon to be pdf and jpg reader) that is designed from the ground up for tablets. To preface, I was disappointed with the quality of comic book readers on the market, which is a shame because the Xoom, with its aspect ratio, is THE perfect comic book reader (honestly, the aspect ratio lends to almost zero unused space) Most of the other comic book apps are either designed for the phone or are very unpolished. I wanted a reader that did a better job of showcasing my collection. I got some feedback from xda, and I would love to here from you guys as well.

Here is the market listing: market link

Komik is the first comic/manga viewer and collection manager designed specifically for Android tablets. We are currently rapidly developing Komik and would love to hear any suggestions from you.

* CBR and CBZ comic support
    * Comic collection browser with thumbnails
    * Page thumbnails to quickly scan through comics
    * Continuous bookmarking for all comics
    * Gracefully handles dual-spread pages
    * Easily zoom into pages

WHATS NEXT V1.10: (based features requested)
    * Better zoom quality
    * JPG comic support
    * PDF comic support
    * More prebuffering for CBRs to improve speed
    * Support for cover.jpg in directories
    * Right to left mode

STAY TUNED FOR:
    * Dual page mode
    * Quick links from the reader
    * Night time mode
    * Search across your entire collection
    * Collection browser filtering to find the comics you want faster
    * A homescreen widget to quickly jump to your comics