Apparently Dead

dubeni

Feb 3, 2017
Hi
I've been using an Asus MeMO Pad 8 (Me 181 CX) for more than 2 years with no issues, but a couple of weeks ago stopped charging, at least it's what I think is happening.
Yesterday the screen still had some back light, but it doesn't start.
I took to the shop but they said it wasn't worth fixing, even without knowing the problem. He added that any part would have to be imported, etc. etc.

Is there any hope?
This was a gift, so I'm not likely run to by another.

Sincerely
dubeni
(Portugal, EU)

Traveller

Administrator
Staff member
Jun 16, 2012
That's assuming that the shop could even get the parts. In any case, the shop is correct. Other versions of the MeMO Pad in your screen size are available on Amazon for as little as 60USD. For the shop to get a replacement motherboard from Asus, which is what would be needed to successfully repair your tablet, would cost much more than that.

Time to start looking into other tablets.

dubeni

Feb 3, 2017
Thank you Traveller, for your straight forward answer.

dubeni

dubeni

Feb 3, 2017
Well, I've been looking online (Amazon.es) for another tablet, and some of the features I need to operate fully with Sky Safari Pro is gyroscope and compass, but it never shows on specs.
What should I look for?

Bernardo

dubeni

Feb 3, 2017
Yes they do, and on other Amazon's also (.fr, .uk, etc.)
But I only found one MeMO with gyroscope and compass, and it wasn't available, so I've looked at a couple of Zen with both.
Differences in prices seem to be related to processors origin and android versions, some don't have Android version on specs.
Looking for differences in specs is not easy, and I don't even look at those that have only general specifications. Small differences on model numbers correspond to totally different prices and a few specs.
I thought it would be easier :D