Apps cannot connect to camera

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by TEWoerner, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. TEWoerner

    TEWoerner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER A500
    Camera is no longer functional on 7 month old A500. Tapping camera icon starts the loading but then the error message that he device connection cannot be made. Performed a software reset with no success. Customer service (first try) sent me a copy of the Users Manual. :(
     
  2. RobKort

    RobKort Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    Go to settings/applications/manage applications/all/camera and delete data, restart the tab and see if it takes care of the issue.

    Sent From Rob's DarkSided ATRIX.
     
  3. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    You can also try another app that uses the Camera from Market to see if it's an issue with the built-in camera software or not...
     
  4. mstrmstr

    mstrmstr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Indiana USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Motorola 7"
    Hi, Depending on the manufacturer you can ask for the .apk file for your unit or as suggested above just find a better and more useful .apk from almost any android market. It's usually just a matter of corrupt or missing info on the original file and not much trouble to replace. Just a note, you can press and hold the old icon for action window for choices on the app installed. you may get lucky and find "reinstall" or "activate" in the list.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  5. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    I've seen this error message on 3 different android devices. Its always software related, and it has never required a factory reset.
    Most of the time clearing data for an application as RobKort mentions does the trick. Often just powering down will do it.

    You can go thur your apps that are running, and anything that even looks like its camera related needs to be Force Closed, then Clear data. This includes the camer, and any app you use that can talk to the camera.
     
  6. CanuckinPA

    CanuckinPA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Somewhere in the wilds of Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Aconia A500
    I've installed Skype on my new A500. When I video call my wife, she gets audio but a green screen for video. I can see the front camera is working since I see my image in the Skype app, but when I clicked on the video icon I was not able to select the front camera.

    I checked the data per your instruction, but all were at zero! I uninstalled and reinstalled Skype and now I keep getting a FC issue. :mad:

    Any help on this is appreciated.
     
  7. nivram

    nivram Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    A500

    Just had the same issue, if still fails after reset it's a hardware problem, mine went back to Acer and they installed a new rear camera and ribbon cable. Not impressed given it's only 4 months old I see a few people have had the same issue. Customer service desk are useless really they offered little to know help and really had no idea, apart from try a hard reset :(
     
  8. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Take the A500 back to where you bought it from and get them to swap it from a new one. Your unit has a hardware problem which is not the same as discussed in this thread. There is another thread about your problem and ACER has replaced the units.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer iconia b1 camera not working

,
acer iconia b1 camera problem
,

acer iconia b1 cannot connect to camera

,
acer iconia camera error
,
acer iconia cant connect to the camera
,
acer tablet cannot connect to camera
,
android cannot connect to camera
,
android tablet cannot connect to camera
,
camera cannot connect on iconia b1
,
cannot connect to camera
,
cannot connect to camera acer tablet b1
,
cannot connect to camera android
,
cannot connect to camera tablet
,
canot conect to camera android
,
how to fix camera error on android tablet
,
how to fix cannot connect camera on tabet
,
how to reset camera on android tablet
,
samsung tablet cannot connect to camera how to fix
,
tablet cant connect to camera
,
why does my tablet say cannot connect to camera