Archos 101 tablet issues... New to tablets

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by brnf2008, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. brnf2008

    brnf2008 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    inverness FL
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos Tablet 101
    I just purchased the Archos 101 internet tablet yesterday and from the very first startup out of te box it froze. I restarted it and that time it made it thru great. Then started acting up again. Here are some of the issues that I am having:

    Freezing up when trying to do or use more than one app at a time

    Apps library barely loading and when you are trying to browse the downloads it freezes up and also any downloads from it have parsening error issue.

    When I am trying to update the firmware (says the version I have isn't current) it doesn't complete and stops at different spots in the download, first time 58% second time 78% and third time 38%

    Games loading will cause the the tablet to freeze up and become unresponsive.

    Starting up issues it doesn't want to turn on and doesn't respond to the power button and then you have to reset it by holding the power button for 10 seconds. . . .

    Google sky map doesn't start up and causes it to become unresponsive having to shut it Don manually and resetting it .

    Is my pad a dud or does any one have suggestions? Any are appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Biotic

    Biotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC ONE, Droid Razr, Galaxy Tab3, LexiBOOK
    Do a system restore (or whatever that option is in settings,)or update it. Sometimes the archos,s need a system restore.
    Nooo archos101 is a dud. I own one as well and ic no downsides

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  3. paulwayne

    paulwayne Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    Tablet / Device:
    Ematic E-Glide Tablet
    Dear brnf2008, I just purchased the Archod101. I called their tecnical support and they walked me thru the firmware update. It works great. The tablet does lock up or freeze. Plays video, music, Apps with no problems. The only isue is the Flash Player support. You can download from the AppsLib and it work 95% of the time, then it will freeze. They are currently working with Adobe to release a working version, it will be released very soon. Overall it is a great tablet, very fast, great touch screen, downloads all Office files, email works perfect, apps work great. I had 3 other tablets that were duds, this is a winner. PaulWayne.
     
  4. paulwayne

    paulwayne Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    Tablet / Device:
    Ematic E-Glide Tablet
    Does anyone know how to download Apps from other sources than the Archos AppsLib?
    Also, does anyone know of a real time widget that runs worldwide news continuously?
    Thanks, paulwayne
     
  5. beastman

    beastman Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    gtab
    Amazon app store, but will require unknown sources. Other option is install gapps

    Sent from my PC36100 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  6. jkane

    jkane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    What others said about reseting.

    Latest firmware is bad. Sorry, it just is. Lots of reboots a hangs and power problems. They will get another out to fix it we hope. The last firmware was relatively good, so there is hope.

    Google sky map just doesn't work well on archos. Something to do with no gps and some other problem. It will load if you wait long enough, but still does not work right without a gospel.
     
  7. jkane

    jkane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    Stupid auto spell check.. . Gps, not gospel!
     
  8. paulwayne

    paulwayne Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Wayne, NJ
    Tablet / Device:
    Ematic E-Glide Tablet
    Dear beastman, Thank you for the reply. Is gapps Goggle Apps? Do you have a web link? Can I download directly to the Archos 101 or do I have to downlaod to my laptop PC first? What version of Flash Player are you using? The 10.1 version hangs up somtimes. I do not have a problem with the latest firmware dwonlaod, works great. Thanks, Paulwayne.
     
  9. beastman

    beastman Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    gtab
    Falls is Google apps. I followed the history from Bishop of technology. He has links for the viewsonic gtab. I don't know if the archos uses the same cm or gapps. You might need to find the sources using google. See http://www.ke5asu.com/android.asp for my android links

    Sent from my GTablet using Android Tablet Forum
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

archos 101 frozen

,

archos 101 problems

,

archos 101 screen frozen

,

archos 101b problems

,

archos 101tablet trouble shoot

,

archos tablet freezes on startup

,

archos tablet games freezing

,

archos tablet keyboard problem

,

archos tablet screen freeze

,

my archos 101 internet tablet is hanging what should i do nairaland

,

why does my archos tablet keep freezing