Archos 70 performace has slowed down DRAMATICALLY? What's up? Was fine before!

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by bmurf, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. bmurf

    bmurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 Internet Tablet
    Hey guys,

    The 70 that I bought was working wonderfully - I have Android 2.2 on it. I broke it in fully by taking it to a Barnes and Nobles with Wi-Fi yesterday and after having surfed some graphic heavy sites and watched some Flash videos (I installed the plugin), the tablet performance is now extremely sluggish. It has locked up several times, button presses/wipes are either delayed by several seconds or don't register at all, on occasion they work fine but it doesn't last. Anyone know what's going on? Is there a cache I have to clear? Is something taxing it's performance after all that surfing?

    Thanks for any info!
    Murf
     
  2. yoyodunno

    yoyodunno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Maybe those websites loaded the cache down with a lot of info? I'm not sure how you could clear info like that, maybe there's an app to clean out data you don't need from the browser or something.
     
  3. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    Adobe and Archos has yet to release the official sanctioned plug-in. I have not experienced this myself but have heard of others getting this. You have too little operating and Cache memory. There are a couple of things you can do:
    1. Go to settings. applications and clear the data cache and settings for the Flash app you installed
    2. Un-install and reinstall Flash. I assume you used Market install.
    3. Use a different home app I used ADW Some people swear by ZEAM. for their Archos. This will help as well.
    The Archos OS footprint is fairly heavy on memory. If you load a system information program, you will see bloat from system and services you likely will never use. If so, uninstall them.

    Best of luck
     
  4. bigwooly

    bigwooly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NULL
    cachemate for root users from the market is another good cache manager for tablets. It's very customizable
     
  5. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    Unfortunately, if you are using the latest 2.0.71 Firmware, there is no root option available yet. This is a a z4root application. But, not valid otherwise.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
70b colbalt very slow
,
archos 70 cobalt speed up
,
archos 70 internet tablet speed up
,
archos 70b cobalt slow
,
archos 70b internet tablet slow
,
archos 70b slow
,
archos 7ob cobalt running slow
,
archos slow loading
,
archos tablet really slow
,

archos tablet running slow

,

archos tablet slow

,
archos tablet very slow
,
how to do a clean up and speed up on my archos tablet
,
how to speed up my archos tablet
,
my archos tablet is slow
,
slow response on archos tablet
,
speed up archos 70 internet tablet
,
speed up my archos tablet
,
why is my archos 70b so slow
,
why is my archos tablet so slow