are there any Chinese tablets that don't have poor wifi performance?

cpuken

Jan 10, 2013
I'm trying to determine if all the tablets out of China have problems with WiFi. I have the Pipo U2 and it doest have good WiFi performance, constantly dropping the connection. I'm new to Android and I've only had my tablet a few weeks. I've seen a few other complaints on the web and I'm trying to figure out if some, most or all of these tablets have this issue? Is it a certain manufacturer or certain models or even a certain chip set?
Can current tablet owners please comment? My wife his an iPad and a Kindel fire HD, we both have iphones and all those devices work fine with regard to WiFi all over our house. My android tablet won't work if you stray very far from the router (tried 2 different routers)

Things
Ken

Anchoret

Jan 3, 2013
I'm trying to determine if all the tablets out of China have problems with WiFi. [...] My android tablet won't work if you stray very far from the router (tried 2 different routers)
I would very much like to see a knowledgeable answer to this question, too. :confused:

I'm getting a generic tablet next week and want to know what to expect -- what is usual and what is actually defective.

I know this: The Chinese generics have a lot of complaints about this, so if it's an actual defect it's a common one to be on the lookout for before the short free-exchange warranty period expires.

I have seen articles about antennas being badly placed within the chassis and causing dropouts, and a reorientation of the antenna curing the problem, but I don't know how common this is, and it would certainly void the warranty to be opening up the unit to check.

I also suspect, but do not know for sure, that this problem may be related to the unit's relatively low available power to its WiFi circuitry, especially when lacking a full charge.

I do hope an expert will give us some serious input on this!

cpuken

Jan 10, 2013