Assistance Needed With Nook Color Dual Booting

wpix

Nov 17, 2011
Hi All,

I am new to the Nook Scene(have a android device) and am trying to set it up for my mom for the holidays.

I got it with 1.20 installed used from someone, so i did the following steps.

1.De registered/cleared the device(looked on bottom of the box and saw it didnt have a blue dot but sticker said preowned so not sure)
2.got the eyeball 1gb img file used winimage to burn to sd(2gb unsure of class), then copied 1.01 nook orig file and used CWM to erase system/data then loaded.
3.registered device.
4.took out sd used cm7 base image,cm7.10 installed.
5.copied over gapps installed in recovery.

Now when i take out the sd card when off i get install failed or something like that(don't have it with me I am at work) with a error message.

What did i do wrong to do dual boot?

Also is phiremod more customizable, basically i want something stable and good and to increase the font for my parents, and to overclock so it works well.

Thank you all for reading and some insight would be appreciated.

I also would like to know /make sure if both seperate entities that i can update the nook color without breaking the sd
Dee

Last edited:

patruns

Jun 4, 2011
You erased the device. What you should have done was leave the internal eMMC alone after de-registering so that your mom could later register it herself. Since you have a bootable card with a working version of CWM (It's version 3.2.0.1, right?) Boot up with the card again and wipe system, data, cache and Davlik (the last under advanced). If you get any can't format errors, choose the option that says factory restore next just to be sure. And before you do all this, put the following stock ROM file (1.3) on the card. After wiping again, install this .zip with CWM and then pull the card and reboot. This will remove CWM from the device itself and give you the (currently) newest stock ROM.