AutoNooter now possible with 1.1.0

Discussion in 'Nook' started by jdog, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. jdog

    jdog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Moto Droid
  2. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Nice find. Now the rest of the NC nation can catch up to the brave souls that went ahead with the 1.1 rom. :)
     
  3. jdog

    jdog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Moto Droid
    I just realized there is another thread where someone is asking about how to root 1.0. If you want to merge the threads feel free, or I can just post the link in that thread as well.
     
  4. rogand

    rogand Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    samsung epic 4g and Nook Color
    Of course it gets announced today, after I struggled with a 1.0.1 vs 1.1.0 tweener unit for most of a week, and finally got it just last night, around 1am ;)
     
  5. jdog

    jdog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Moto Droid
    It actually got posted at 8:29 lastnight. I was beating my head against the wall last night trying to decide what approach to take when I stumbled on it around 10:30. Sorry I didn't post sooner....might have saved you some frustration.
     
  6. rogand

    rogand Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    samsung epic 4g and Nook Color
    No worries. I like the learning (mostly) so it was a good exercise just the same. Besides, if I'd known about it, I'd have beaten my head trying to decide too, just as I did with the wireless vs ADB update methods (never did decide, it's just after 3 days, I capitulated and risked the wireless method when I was very tired ;) )

    Now the question becomes, what are the real advantages of 1.1.0? I'm pretty sure when I briefly had a 1.1.0 unit, that the browser pinched and zoomed, which I don't think my current one does.

    And if one does want it, what's the best method (one could allow the OTA, and then re-root, or is there a better method to jump from rooted 1.0.1 to rooted 1.1.0.
    Any changes in contact/calender/gmail? Those and browser pinch/zoom would be the big things I'm looking for.
    thanks
    roger
     
  7. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    If you want to jump to 1.1 without unrooting, you could load the pre-rooted 1.1 rom through Clockwork Recovery. Read the thread on the 1.1 rom first to see what the bugs and benefits are in 1.1 before you make a decision.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
    • Like Like x 2
  8. jinnijinn

    jinnijinn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    87
    I just did this, and it works great. :)
     
  9. migrax

    migrax Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    VanBuren, AR.
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Nook Color 1.1.0
    I installed ROM Manager 3.0.0.7 and intalled the Pre-Rooted Nook 1.1.0 rom. However I have an issue with ROM Manager... Though I used it to install the ROM, it has taken over the backup for my Nook Color, I simply cannot revert to 1.0 rom, clockwork mod takes over the restore process and will not allow me to go back... not that I want to at the moment, but it worries me a bit that it is not an option for me. How do I get clockwork mod to hand over the backup to Nook's backup and restore system? 8 restarts launches clockwork and so does the 3 finger salute. Sorry, I am a complete noob at this and I feel like I am in over my head.

    migrax
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  10. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Use this tutorial to remove ClockworkMod Recovery and restore stock recovery. Then you can perform factory reset as normal. You can re-install CWR at anytime.
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-1-update-if-using-clockworkmod-recovery.html
     
  11. migrax

    migrax Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    VanBuren, AR.
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Nook Color 1.1.0
    Worked like a charm, thanks a lot.


    migrax
     
  12. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
  13. tomtin

    tomtin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
  14. tomtin

    tomtin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Nevermind, I got them to download. How do I get rid of that little arrow to the right? It doesn't seem to work well anyway.
     
  15. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    Little arrow? You mean soft keys? You need that or button savior to back out/hit menu when in full screen. Also u might want to add a home replacement launcher like "zeam" from the market.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page