Backup error, think I'm worrying for nothing

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by xfeejayx, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. xfeejayx

    xfeejayx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Autonooted 1.1. Running CWR 3.0.1.0

    boot into CWR and backup yields the following:

    SD Card space free: 150xx
    Backing up boot...
    Backing up system...
    Can't mount /system!

    Now, every time i try it again (of course hoping a reboot fixed it) the free card space does go down by about 7MB. Is this thing backing up? Should I check before moving onto next steps?

    thanks!
     
  2. caulktel

    caulktel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Oregon USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color 1.1 Rooted
    Go back into the Rom Manager and flash CWR only pick Nook Color (old) instead of the one you picked or if you had picked Nook Color (old) then pick the other one, then try it again. I know it doesn't sound all that technical, but it worked for me and many others.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. xfeejayx

    xfeejayx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    looks like it worked! backing up right now. Thanks.
     
  4. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    Another candidate... glad everything is working now.
     
  5. kookahdoo

    kookahdoo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryos 7015
    I had the dame problem until I flashed cwm into Nook Color. The Nook Color (old) didn't work.

    Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk
     
  6. mightytalldude

    mightytalldude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Thornton, Colorado
    Tablet / Device:
    NC 1/31 Rooted 1/31
    Verify that it worked. I've had issues with the backup not generating an md5 sum. I'm using the Nook Color version, so I'm going to try the Nook color (old) and see if it fixed that issue.
     
  7. kookahdoo

    kookahdoo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryos 7015
    I just checked. There is an android.md5 in my backup.

    Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk
     
  8. xfeejayx

    xfeejayx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    interesting. mine was the opposite.

     
  9. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    Any chance you folks can post your system version, rom manager version, cwr version - plus state the issue and fix you did? I'm trying to figure out why one version works for some and not others.
     
  10. caulktel

    caulktel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Oregon USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color 1.1 Rooted
    B&N 1.1
    Rom Manager V3.0.1.2
    CWR 3.0.0.5

    I used Nook Color old
     
  11. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    And when you flashed recovery from RM, and selected 'Nook Color' you received a 'can't mount /system error' when trying to create a backup, correct? But flashing recovery with 'nook color (old)' worked fine?
     
  12. caulktel

    caulktel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Oregon USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color 1.1 Rooted
    Yes, the first time I picked "Nook Color", when trying to backup it said can't find /system. After reflashing and picking "Nook Color Old" it worked fine.
     

Share This Page