Best tablet for reading PDF's?

Aggie9

Nov 20, 2011
I've been browsing the forums, but haven't been able to find a thread that deals with PDF's specifically. If there is one, please feel free to post the link as a reply.

In general, I'm looking for a tablet with the following functionality:

Able to read PDF and Word documents, highlight text and add notes/memos

E-books

Basic web browsing

Basic apps: Facebook, news, etc.

Play DivX format

The PDF and Word document reading is most import ant as I'm a professor and researcher so I download articles in PDF form from my university library but don't want to have to print them all out. The articles are mostly text with some tables and graphs. I also review student papers, so the ability to do some marking on the device would save a lot of paper.

We just got my dad the Galaxy 10.1 Tab. It does everything I need so far (haven't tried the word documents yet), plus a ton of extras that I don't need and the price is a bit high ($500). I have a smaetphone that I'm happy with for email, and I don't like typing on the galaxy tab, I prefer my phone's slide out keyboard

I was considering the Kindle Fire but have been reading that the screen is too small to read PDF's comfortably and I didn't see whether it supports highlighting and notes/memos. Also not sure about the video playback on the fire.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. If there are any older threads that discuss these issues, please direct me there, too!

Thanks in advance :)

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk

SpeMall.com

Jul 13, 2011
I've been browsing the forums, but haven't been able to find a thread that deals with PDF's specifically. If there is one, please feel free to post the link as a reply.

E-books

Basic web browsing

Play DivX format