Best way to Factory Reset? (Archos 101)

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by CyberPitz, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I'm having the issue of NEVER being able to sign into my google account for the Market (Unable to establish a reliable connection to the server). From what I hear, only a factory reset can fix this. Although, I've done this up to 5 times so far, no go. At least, I THINK I'm factory resetting. I'm going to Settings --> Repair & Formating --> Full Reinitialization. Now, should I be doing that or going through the System Recovery and picking "Format System"? (Not entirely sure if I do that I will even have an Android OS installed!)
     
  2. Unreadhyperion

    Unreadhyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Turn the Archos off, Hold the VOL - button and turn it back on. Keep the Vol - key pressed. It will load into Archos Boot Menu. Once you see the white screen you can let go of the Vol- key. Using the Volume keys go down to Recovery System, hit the Power Key to select it. Select Repair System and or Format System... up to you. I'd try a repair if that doesn't work Format it.
     
  3. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Alrighty, I'll try the Check Disk. So, just to be 100%...if I format System, I can still boot up as if I first got the unit? I don't want to have to find the OS to re-install...:p

    *EDIT* Check Desk didn't work....
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  4. Unreadhyperion

    Unreadhyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Though I gotta be honest.. seems a rather harsh method to fix a google market issue. Try this: go to Settings > Accounts and Syncs Settings > Turn Sync off. Then go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > All > Clear Cache and Data for contacts storage, etc.. and attempt to sync again.

    Can also try to go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Market > Clear Data.

    Some report that after doing a format that they are unable to recover their google account... the only work around is to sign into the youtube program...

    read: [Solved] Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server - Page 2 - xda-developers
     
  5. Unreadhyperion

    Unreadhyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Ironically enough he firmware is available on most posts having to do with rooting your Archos :D Though you'd need to install SDK which voids your warranty. Archos claims that it watermarks your system and they can tell that you installed it... though no programmer has ever seen this water mark.
     
  6. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Yeah, that's kind of the last thing I want to do with this. I've got a Rooted Droid and that's working fine...but there is a whole bunch more community support with that, so I feel much more safe in terms of breaking it and getting things up and running again.

    Stupid "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server." This is driving me freaking nuts.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
archos 101 factory reset
,
archos 101 hard reset
,
archos 101 internet tablet factory reset
,
archos 101 internet tablet hard reset
,
archos factory reset
,

archos gamepad hard reset

,
archos hard reset
,

archos tablet hard reset

,
factory reset archos 101
,
factory reset archos tablet
,
hard reset archos gamepad
,
hard reset archos tablet
,
how do i reset my archos tablet
,
how to factory reset archos gamepad
,
how to factory reset archos tablet
,
how to reset a archos tablet
,
how to reset an archos tablet
,
how to reset archos 101 internet tablet
,

how to reset archos tablet

,
reset archos tablet