Black PDN Modded Firmware - Frenzee

Discussion in 'Pandigital Novel Black Firmware' started by GeniusGeeko, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. GeniusGeeko
    Offline

    GeniusGeeko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Black Pandigital Novel 7"
    -----Jan 13, 2011
    Frenzee v.2
    *Based off Open Platform Kit
    *Working Market "Buggy"
    *Google Apps (Gmail, Google Talk, Google Maps)
    *Other Useful Applications (Youtube)
    Changes
    *Added apps (Astro File Manager, BusyBox)
    *Cleaned up apps
    *Fixed Launcher, now rotates home screen

    Download Link:polaris_update.dat
    ________________________________________________________________________________


    Install Instructions
    1. Download Required Files
    Lastest Firmware (located above)
    Android SDK: Android SDK | Android Developers
    2. Install SDK (I installed mine "C:/sdk")
    3. Place the "Polaris_update.dat" file on the sd ard's directory.
    4. When the Novel is off, insert sdcard and hold the volume + button w/ power button until boot text appears.
    5. Verify that it says "Updating Firmware to Version: Black Pandigital Novel Frenzee v0.2 Firmware"
    6. After it is booted it says which application you want to start, select either one it doesn't really matter.
    7. The Android robot logo should pop up and this next part can be a little tricky.
    Touch the top left, top right, bottom right, bottom left corners of the application.
    8. The home screen should be up now, and now open up the market or another google app.
    9. It will ask you to sign in/create an account.
    10. Enjoy your modded firmware!

    ________________________________________________________________________________

    -----Jan 12, 2011
    Frenzee v.1
    *Based off Open Platform Kit
    *Working Market "Buggy"
    *Google Apps (Gmail, Google Talk, Google Maps)
    *Other Useful Applications (Youtube)

    Download Link:polaris_update.dat
    ________________________________________________________________________________

    More Information
    This was tested on, "Windows 7 x64" Please test on other sources.
    If needed I will make a linux tutorial.

    Please request new features you would like to see in my custom firmwares.
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  2. magemasher80
    Offline

    magemasher80 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    BPDN
    Thank you very much it works very well. I do have one request though. When I do use this for my ereading (comics and such) the tool bar at the bottom cuts off well, the bottom of the page. I know why it is there but is it possible to maybe find a way to hide it, or something?
  3. GeniusGeeko
    Offline

    GeniusGeeko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Black Pandigital Novel 7"
    yea I'm working on it, been messing with a bunch of stuff.
  4. WiredAnim
    Offline

    WiredAnim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital Novel Black 7"
    I'm really curious about this build and want to give it a try but I can't get past the google sign in screen that shows the sliding keyboard for the G1. I have ran the the open platform and liked it a lot but had the same issue mentioned above with the nav bar cutting everything off. If you can get the figured out that would be amazing. Any assistance with the sign on issue would be awesome.
  5. makinaria
    Offline

    makinaria Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tablet / Device:
    PDN Black
    how do you bypass the screen where it says "slide keyboard open to continue" it shows a cellphone.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. bluefox83
    Offline

    bluefox83 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Black Pandigital Novel
    First time poster here...Just wondering if I really must mod my Novel in order to install the pandora app. If there's some voodoo magic trick I can do to get around the fact that whenever I go to pandora.com or the android market website with my novel is says that the address is not found...this seems to me to be something we should be able to fix by changing some config files someplace...
  7. businessnone62
    Offline

    businessnone62 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    One: why waste time downloading android SDK? no reason what so ever for it..

    Two: whats this instruction for? it does not seem to do anything at all? :

    "7. The Android robot logo should pop up and this next part can be a little tricky.
    Touch the top left, top right, bottom right, bottom left corners of the application."

    Three: why does it ask to open slide keyboard?

    .. suppose until issue is resolved, other mod will be used..
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  8. kendallb
    Offline

    kendallb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    See step 7.

    "7. The Android robot logo should pop up and this next part can be a little tricky."


    You have to touch all 4 corners of the black part, This is during the Finger clicking the Android logo.
  9. Paulbukowski
    Offline

    Paulbukowski Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Black Android Novel Model RR7T20WBL1
    Hello, I have a black PanDigital Novel and have downloaded the .dat file. I put it on the sd card root and held the volume and power button but it never says updating firmware. It quickly flashes something about boot count 0 and goes black.
    Would appreciate any help you can give.
    Thanks
  10. Tirell
    Offline

    Tirell Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, Md
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital Novel 7" black
    Hi, Kendall...
    I attempted to touch the four corners of the black part of the app while the finger was clicking on it, and it did not work. I ended up using ADB to uninstall the SetupWizard.apk, and then I was able to use my PDN without having to go through the setup. But now I have another problem. I am not able to sign onto my Google account at all using any of the Google Apps.
  11. shapeless
    Offline

    shapeless Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    lots of different android devices
    I followed everything to a "T" and now the device won't even turn on. Did your handy little fix just wreck my device?
  12. shapeless
    Offline

    shapeless Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    lots of different android devices
    I was determined to get this to work. Soon as the screenyou described comes up, I let go of the power button. It started to update. I was elated, now the thing wont turn on. This little "update" just updated me NEW e-reader to a paperweight. Count your blessings!!!
  13. CanadianLiveWire
    Offline

    CanadianLiveWire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital 7" Black eReader
    Can you please give step by step instructions how you did this.... been trying to fix my sons for 2 days after putting in Frenzee v.2, i've tried installing other firmware over it and can't even do that... i'm usually pretty good with electronics but this stupid eReader/tablet just sucks!!
  14. Dooode
    Offline

    Dooode Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Toshiba Thrive, Pandigital Novel, Google Nexus S
    I have the Canadian version of the PDN black. Two things, first, it won't upgrade with the file name polaris_update.dat. You need to rename the file to S64N_SLST_KOBO_PD_20110602.dat (of all things). Second, the tap top left, top right, bottom right and bottom left all around the little Android works beautifully. That takes you out of setup to a home screen so you don't start setup and get stuck at 'slide the keyboard'. To start, you can just plug in your USB cable to the computer you downloaded the file to, transfer the file to the root of the SD card in the reader, shut it off, reboot with volume up and power both held for five seconds, and it upgrades.
    YouTube, cool reader, market, maps, = wow. Its actually a useful little tablet now. Just go to market and it will ask you to sign into your google account. Worked for me, anyway.
  15. oldretiredman
    Offline

    oldretiredman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Warner Robins,Ga
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital SuperNova 8/zte z990 phone
    I have the same problem as Makinaria. In addition , I can't reinsall original firmware.
  16. MadMorgan
    Offline

    MadMorgan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital Novel 7'" Colour Multimedia e-reader
    I've tried several times, I still end up with the original screen. I changed the dat file name to "S64N_SLST_KOBO_PD_20110602.dat". Put it in the root directory (7 folders, 2 ini files and the dat file beneath that) hold down start and volume up buttons for 5 seconds. No little android, just the same main screen I get when I got it. To note, I was also unable to do the Pandigital site upgrade because it kept giving me an error. I hope that didnt have anything to do with it.

    My error looks like this:
    Free Online Storage - MediaFire $zzzzpandigital2.jpg
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  17. Mistygreen
    Offline

    Mistygreen Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    7" pandigital black

    I had this happen as well.. my pandigital factory reset and I had to update to polaris. I kept getting this Error over and over again, I tried 3 other computers same thing for 3 days same thing.. was fixing to pull the thing apart. So I did some searching and found the updater is a checker to see what version you have then installs the update *that is if it works*.. Decided to look for the straight update file instead. I found and downloaded the polaris update.dat from a different website, and moved it over to an SD card. With pandigital off, I put the SD card into slot and then turned it on, it did the update showing the *Frenzee* update, I thought nothing of it. When it was done I was looking at the green Android man.. first thought OMG I downloaded a bad file.. so I pulled the SD card out and tried to boot to the factory settings.. that didn't work, formated the onboard SD card, and tried again.. nope little guy still there. I stopped and went online to find out what I did and came across this forum topic.. Ahh I see all I have to do is put all four of my fingers on the black part of the screen and tap the corners, this should have got me into the home screen and bypass the green guy.. well I tried this for about .. hmm 5 mins and was not getting anywhere.. then decided to do as it stated .. I tapped the left top, then went to the right top, bottom right and last the bottom left and walla.. the little green guy was gone and I have an updated *I believe* "hacked" black pandigital. I must say I am happy right now, I am back up and I think it is better than the update from pandigitals website. I have already downloaded some cool games.. some didn't work but the ones that are I am happy with. Must not forget.. it is a pandigital not an Ipad or Lepan, so don't expect to much from it. All in all I hope this helps :)
  18. Vinnie_D
    Offline

    Vinnie_D Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hudson Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital Novel Black 6"
    The install looks like it went perfect, but I'm having an issue with getting past this blankity blank robot. I am trying to use the for corners method TL-TR-BR-BL but I'm not successful. What do I do oh guru of computer wisdom?
  19. Vinnie_D
    Offline

    Vinnie_D Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hudson Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital Novel Black 6"
    For all you who read this, I discovered the "trick" to this. You have to got to the screen that asks about the keyboard and THEN hit the four corners. Works great now.
  20. jet13
    Offline

    jet13 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    winnipeg
    Tablet / Device:
    Pandigital novel 7"
    Good day to all, I have a PDN Black. When I got it for x-mass, it had a tablet type screen, used it for reading epub books. I had it plugged in to charge, and when I went to use it, the screen had changed to 3 tier view, 2 book shelves, and some icons on the bottom. So I've been reading on a other site, and left a couple of post, but got know reply's after a week, and now I'm here.

    My PDN has this info on the support page.

    HardWare: RD101-2GB-W
    Plateform: AN15-07-30-2010-7D-V3
    Application: BN01-07-30-2010-7D-V3
    RMSDK9.1.0

    I've done the step to the T, just like Madmorgon, I've change the file name from polaris_update, to at least 6 other names that I've read on this site and the other, but still boots to thee same old page. If I put books and music on the SD card, I can see them when I look at the reader in My Computer, but the books do not come up in my library. I've even reformated my 4gb SD card before each time.

    All I really want this for is books, music, and to google some times.

    So my question's are, can this thing be flashed and if so how, or is it a paper weight.

    Thanks for any hepl

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

pandigital dat file

,
pandigital novel
,
pandigital novel firmware
,
polaris update dat