Bluetooth Headset

MyHD120

Sep 4, 2011
I'm new to tablets and Android but fairly savvy on computers. I have the Vtab. I also have a cell phone (doesn't run android), and have a Plantronics Explorer 210 and Voyager 835 BT headset. I can pair these two headsets and the phone with the Vtab but they won't connect. How can I make them connect to the Vtab and what will that gain me? Or, can some one point me in the right direction to research. I have been doing a lot of reading. Thanks.

Last edited:

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
the tablet needs to have the Bluetooth A2DP profiles installed in order to use BT Headphones. this is separate from the profiles for devices like phones or processes like file sharing. Hope that clears it up.

SEMIJim

Aug 20, 2011
Hope that clears it up.
Like mud :)

Is this something Vizio has to do? A downloadable app?

I have the same problem. I persuaded the VTAB to pair with a BT headset I have, but it won't connect. Would be handy with GrooveIP.

Jim

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
it could be a downloadable app, if someone were to create it. Bluetooth is simply a transport technology, like WiFi or Tethering, etc. What is being transferred is a separate part of the transfer, in the case of BT headphones it is the need to transform the signal to a usable audio format for the headphone. So, bottom line is basically just because you can transfer a file via bluetooth, doesn't mean you can connect a HID (Human Interface Device) like a keyboard, mouse or headphone.

this is why you can "pair" a device but still not use it. The tablet knows there is something there receiving a signal, but it doesn't necessarily mean it knows what to do with the signal.

MyHD120

Sep 4, 2011