books being uploaded to library without being told to

marktinker

Jan 4, 2015
Hi not sure if this problem should be here or in ME176CX forum.. I recently bought asus ME176CX running Kitkat 4.4 (I'm new to both) I don't want to use cloud storage or similar as I run using EE Mifi and dont.to want to waste Gb. I don't think I told the machine to upload or download ebooks that I copied from my laptop to micro sd card via Calibre but the screen is very sensitive so perhaps I did when I thought I was scrolling or something.
Is there a way of telling the asus or Kitkat not to upload/download books and how do I delete the books that have been uploaded. I'm using FBReader to read books if that affects anything but suspect its one of the preinstalled apps thats doing the up/download and telling me I can't read the book unless i download it when I know its on my SD card
I do use the asus for web searching, downloading apps, utube etc. so don't want to turn of internet connection
thanks mark

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
I'm a little confused by your post based on the title vs content. Could you boil the problem down to 2 sentences? Like are you trying to conserve data, have everything you are reading off-line?

marktinker

Jan 4, 2015
don't want to use online storage, didn't intend to use online storage, don't know how to prevent

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Getting closer. ;) Do you know where the files are being stored? The reason I ask is because the Library app is not in the cloud.

marktinker

Jan 4, 2015
I assumed it was in the cloud because it says uploading and downloading and little arrows appear at the top left of the screen and when I stroke down from top of the screen a blue square appears with messages like you have 2 new messages 2 apps updated and 2 books downloaded

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011