Boot-Up/Factory Reset Problem

Discussion in 'Allwinner A10 Based' started by Bosco, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Hi Ricky405jr.

    Just tried your suggestion but the tablet did a regular boot again.

    It's beginning to look like I'm screwed without access to recovery then?
     
  2. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    When you type
    adb shell

    su

    do you see $ or a # ?
     
  3. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    When I open adb shell I see "#", which I think means I'm super-user by default?
     
  4. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    oki that means you still have a chance fixing it.

    So how did you install CWM? Cos as vampirefo ​stated that can fix your problem.
     
  5. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    I found a method here;

    CWM 6.0.2.8 for Allwinner A10 & A13 Tablets - v2a - xda-developers

    Specifically I did this, from the adb shell;

    From a Running System: Unzip the file and copy recovery.img and install-recovery.sh to your internal or external SD card.

    Next, either run "adb shell" or open the Terminal app, then change the directory to where you stored the files.

    If you're using Terminal, start by running "su" to get root access (you may already have it if using adb).

    Now, type in "sh install-recovery.sh" then press Enter. Messages will appear telling you whether it succeeded or failed.
     
  6. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Post the output of busybox df -h

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Tablet
     
  7. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Here's the output from the faulty tablet;

    busybox df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
    tmpfs 407.1M 44.0K 407.1M 0% /dev
    tmpfs 407.1M 0 407.1M 0% /mnt/asec
    tmpfs 407.1M 0 407.1M 0% /mnt/obb
    /dev/block/nandd 252.0M 229.3M 22.7M 91% /system
    /dev/block/nandh 126.0M 4.0M 121.9M 3% /cache
    /dev/block/vold/179:1
    29.8G 24.8G 5.0G 83% /mnt/extsd
    /dev/block/vold/93:64
    13.2G 4.4G 8.8G 33% /mnt/sdcard
    /dev/block/vold/93:64
    13.2G 4.4G 8.8G 33% /mnt/secure/asec



    And for comparison, here's the output from an identical tablet, (actually this one has only 8GB ram), that's booting correctly.

    busybox df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
    tmpfs 407.1M 44.0K 407.1M 0% /dev
    tmpfs 407.1M 0 407.1M 0% /mnt/asec
    tmpfs 407.1M 0 407.1M 0% /mnt/obb
    /dev/block/nandd 252.0M 229.3M 22.7M 91% /system
    /dev/block/nande 1.2G 358.1M 823.0M 30% /data
    /dev/block/nandh 126.0M 4.0M 121.9M 3% /cache
    /dev/block/vold/179:1
    29.8G 22.0G 7.8G 74% /mnt/extsd
    /dev/block/vold/93:64
    5.8G 433.7M 5.4G 7% /mnt/sdcard
    /dev/block/vold/93:64
    5.8G 433.7M 5.4G 7% /mnt/secure/asec
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
  8. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Yes data not mounted, needs factory reset, you need to dump both recoveries, my guess the CWM you Installed isn't for your tablet, so the tablet can't boot into recovery.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Tablet
     
  9. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    I'm using the same version of CWM on the identical tablet and it's working fine. Must be another reason why the faulty tablet can't boot into recovery?

    Sounds like I'm running out of options.

    Is there any way to perform the necessary factory reset remotely using a PC?

    Also, I've discovered Root Explorer will install on the faulty tablet despite the data partition not being mounted. I could try copying the data folder from the healthy tablet onto an ext-sd card then copy it over the data folder on the faulty tablet. Or would this make the tablet freeze and never work again?
     
  10. tpaine

    tpaine Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Socal
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7042, Coby 8065, Lenovo A2109
    Did you backup the original recoveries? If so, you could compare the 2. Even though its the same brand, it is a different model. There could be (and it seems likely at this point) different recoveries.

    You likely can't copy data using root explorer because the files won't copy until the partition is mounted.
     
  11. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    No, I don't have any recovery backups. To be honest until my Son's went wrong I was unaware of such things. :(

    I believe both tablets are the same model. He ordered the same one as me but paid a supplement for an extra 8GB of ram.

    Just re-installed Root Explorer on the faulty tablet and was able to copy a folder from within /data to the ext-card.

    May work in reverse but would replacing the entire data folder using an app running on the same tablet cause it to freeze?
     
  12. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    well it doesn't mean that when you order a tablet from the same supplier you get the same each time. Looking at the tab's are the same but somethings might be changed in the hardware. You can check that with the build.prop date's on both the tablet's to know for sure.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Yeah, I take your point. :)

    It's weird the data partition doesn't appear to be mounted but I can access the data folder with Root Explorer. Or is that what you'd expect?
     
  14. tpaine

    tpaine Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Socal
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7042, Coby 8065, Lenovo A2109
    You can read it, but can you write to it? ( if its not mounted, you cant)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    The tablet is just creating a temp data on each boot, root explorer sees that, but not your real data partition.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Tablet
     
    • Like Like x 4

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android boot reset problem
,

hard reset leagoo lead 3

,
how to hard reset lead4
,
leagoo elite 4 reset
,

leagoo lead 3 hard reset

,
leagoo lead 3 reset
,
leagoo lead 4 factory reset
,

leagoo lead 4 hard reset

,

leagoo lead 5 hard reset

,
tablet resets every boot