Boot-Up/Factory Reset Problem

Discussion in 'Allwinner A10 Based' started by Bosco, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. leeb

    leeb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    I would like to suggest that you attempt a

    fsck /dev/block/nande

    on the faulty tablet, and see if it is able to clean it up...

    if not, attempt to copy the /dev/block/nandg (recovery partition device) from the good tablet to an external TF card file as I posted before, and then attempt to copy it to the same nandg device on the faulty one. This OUGHT to get you a working recovery on the faulty one which should fix the factory reset issue... at the least you may be able to clean/fix the /data partition that way.
    AND/OR
    you could also do the same with the /dev/block/nande (/data) partition and possibly get a clean(er) partition that then could be more easily repaired.

    Just some thoughts! :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Tried `fsck' but no joy there.

    fsck /dev/block/nande
    /system/bin/sh: fsck: not found

    Also copied the recovery partition from the good tablet to the bad tablet but it still won't boot into recovery. Just doesn't seem to see it.

    Would re-flashing the firmware using LiveSuite work, or does that also require the tablet to be in recovery mode?
     
  3. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Livesuite doesn't use recovery mode, it uses it's own download mode.
     
  4. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    If you have busybox installed we can try and format it via busybox, via adb shell.

    adb shell

    su

    umount /data

    busybox mke2fs -T ext4 -F -q -m 0 -b 4096 -O ^huge_file,extent /dev/block/nande

    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/nande /data
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Hi Vampirefo.

    First line produced this result.

    unmount /data
    sh: unmount: not found


    I figured if it couldn't find /data then it wasn't mounted anyway so thought I'd try the next part. Seemed to do something.

    busybox mke2fs -T ext4 -F -q -m 0 -b 4096 -O ^huge_file,ext
    ent /dev/block/nande
    -m 0 -b 4096 -O ^huge_file,extent /dev/block/nande <
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=4096 (log=2)
    Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
    76800 inodes, 307200 blocks
    0 blocks (0%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=0
    Maximum filesystem blocks=4194304
    10 block groups
    32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
    7680 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
    32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912


    Final part came back with `invalid argument'.

    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/nande /data
    mount: Invalid argument


    I haven't rebooted the tablet yet. Thought I'd wait for a response first.
     
  6. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    You typed umount command wrong you added an n it's umount not unmount anyway the partition appears to have formatted, now reboot and then do busybox df -h to see if kernel has mounted data.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Tablet
     
  7. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Just rebooted and the data partition hasn't mounted again.

    Really thought this would be the break through.
     
  8. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    If busybox nor CWM can fix it, only choice is livesuite.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Tablet
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Ok, thanks for trying.

    I'll see if I can hunt down a firmware image. I did ask the Chinese supplier for the firmware a few weeks ago but they said they didn't have it. I've just mailed them again but I won't hold my breath.

    ...

    Actually I've just been reading a thread with a guy who wanted to backup his tablet's firmware in case it ever needed to be reflashed in the future.

    One member posted this;

    Just use
    #adb backup
    for back up and
    #adb restore
    for restoring

    Might this work if I made a backup from the healthy tablet and restored on the bad tablet?
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  10. leeb

    leeb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    It is certainly worth a try. I certainly believe the good tablet is going to be the key to fixing the other!
    You may want to try doing the mount w/o the -t.. mount /dev/nande /data...
    :D
     
  11. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I have never used adb backup or restore, so can't say. I would think you would need to be in recovery mode using CWM.
    I don't understand how one could adb restore on a running system and kernel.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Tablet
     
  12. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Ok I just did the adb back -all then I opened backup.ab to see what was backed up, not much really just apps, so this isn't a tablet backup per say, it just a app backup, so not going to help you.
     
  13. Bosco

    Bosco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    NATPC Knight AllWinner A10 (Model MID970)
    Yeah, I did a bit more reading-up last night and reached the same opinion.

    I had a brief response from the Chinese supplier this morning. They're very prompt but no help.

    Thanks for your kindly feedback

    We are so sorry that we didnt have the NATPC KINGTH firmware at this moment.

    Anyway, I think the following firmware may be compatible - Unofficial CyanogenMod 9 for AllWinner A10 tablets.

    [rom] Unofficial CyanogenMod 9 for many AllWinner A10 tablets - xda-developers

    Just got to figure out how to turn this into a LiveSuit image.

    Alternatively, I may start a new thread to see if anyone already has a suitable firmware image.
     
  14. tpaine

    tpaine Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Socal
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7042, Coby 8065, Lenovo A2109
    Did you try busybox fsck /dev/block/nande ?

    As stated before, livesuite should be the last thing to try.
     
  15. tpaine

    tpaine Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Socal
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7042, Coby 8065, Lenovo A2109
    One more thing, you might try.

    Adb reboot recovery
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android boot reset problem
,

hard reset leagoo lead 3

,
how to hard reset lead4
,
leagoo elite 4 reset
,

leagoo lead 3 hard reset

,
leagoo lead 3 reset
,
leagoo lead 4 factory reset
,

leagoo lead 4 hard reset

,

leagoo lead 5 hard reset

,
tablet resets every boot