Broken touch screen/glass

jweidner

Jan 11, 2011
I dropped my Sylvania tablet on an unpadded section of plush carpet, and the screen shattered. Seems like there should have been a small buffer between the bezel and the glass itself, but I'm no engineer. Anyway, does anyone have an idea where to purchase a new touch screen panel? I see the following # inside the glass YY-D0272 1010. It's a 4 wire cable which is located exactly half way down the middle of the short edge of the screen.

jweidner

Jan 11, 2011
So here's the response from DigitalGadgets:
Unfortunately we do not repair units, nor do we offer replacement parts.
If anyone is watching, this is the screen and the 4 wire cable placement. Couldn't find anything identical on ebay so far.

http://www.weidners.us/sylvania_digitizer.jpg
$sylvania_digitizer.jpg

cainm13

Mar 2, 2011
I think the best investment you can buy for this tablet is some kind of protector.

While it was charging, it started slipping off the table. Hitting the rim of my metal trashcan, only dropping about 10-12 inches. I checked the screen right after, didn't see any cracks (dark room). Didn't touch the tablet for a few days, only to find a line crack across the screen. Touch screen stopped working, but USB keyboard/mouse still worked.

There's absolutely no cushioning, 10-12 inches isn't very high of a drop. I've dropped my cell phone so many times from higher heights.

h3nna

Mar 15, 2011
i too have broke the screen on my disgo 6000 does anyone know how to bypass the calibration of the touch screen as i just flashed back to factory. Any advise much appreciated.

jweidner

Jan 11, 2011
I hooked up my usb mouse/keyboard combo to the the unit without a problem. I'm not sure if that will allow you to calibrate, but it's worth a shot.

netscaven

Jan 19, 2012
Greetings All.

I look forward to sharing in the wealth of knowledge you all have to offer.

My Tablet: 7" VIA Apad 8650 Green LED, Black mic jack. Upgraded using Uberoid