Can I use this on the NC

tornadotumble

May 25, 2011
I plan on getting a NC today and was wondering if the z4root app will root the Nook Color. If not, may I ask why? I am not tech savvy and have never rooted before, so I apologize if my question(s) may seem trivial:).

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
I have no experieince with this but according to the XDA page the Nook is not listed so I would say no. You have several options besides rooting such as using a custom ROMs or a bootable SD card which will allow you to run a custom ROM while leaving the internal Nook memory stock.

None of the options are too difficult as long as you read the steps, then ask if you have any questions then follow the steps exactly. Plenty of non-technical people have been able to make one option or another work.

Let us know if you need any help.

JP

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
I suggest starting here http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/nook-color-technical/13156-how-cm7-bootable-sd.html. This will allow you to get a good idea of what the custom ROM CM7 looks like and you can go back to stock at any time by simply powering down removing the bootable SD card and then rebooting like normal.

Once you have had a chance to see if you like it you can either install CM7 internally (or keep running it from the SD card) or you can choose one of its closely related custom ROMs Phiremod or Ultimate Droid to install internally. You also will have the option to root your stock OS at any time should you choose to do so. Lots of options :)

JP

idontknow

Alternate ATF App Tester
Jan 13, 2011
Wellcome among us Tornadotumble, you look really cute with that red bow in your hair!
Gg

tornadotumble

May 25, 2011
Well thank you, idon'tknow:). You look spiffy in that red shirt of yours yourself! I'm skimming the boards, gathering information and trying to decide if I have enough nerve to root the NC or not:).

Last edited:

idontknow

Alternate ATF App Tester