Can you connect a WD type USB HD to a android tablet and watch movies?

Jay726

Mar 3, 2012
Hi

I'm new to this field of tech, only having a laptop and iphone. Basically i need a small single layer type system (i.e not a laptop that opens up book style) that i can connect a western digital passport external hard drive from and watch movies from, and also just do a little wifi internet surfing on and that's it whilst i am away.

I travel with the forces quite a bit and need something small and compact around 8-0 inch but i need to connect the exernal HD to it. I download all my movies from the net in AVI format (purchased of course) and watch them on my laptop through media player but all i need is a screen really as the rest of a laptops uses doesn't get access whilst away. Can this be done with an android based tablet or will i have to go for a windows based or even a small netbook with swivel screen like the dell inspiron duo?

any help would be greatly appreciated

Jay

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
You can, but you do not say what Tablet you have or considering. Some tablets are more friendly than others. The IMPORTANT thing to remember is the External drive must have an external power supply generally. This is critical to understand. The Tablet's battery generally do not have enough amperage to power anything other then Flash storage.

redcloud

Aug 24, 2011
You can, but you do not say what Tablet you have or considering. Some tablets are more friendly than others. The IMPORTANT thing to remember is the External drive must have an external power supply generally. This is critical to understand. The Tablet's battery generally do not have enough amperage to power anything other then Flash storage.