Can't see the extsd

Discussion in 'APAD G10' started by jackso11, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    I still cant get my external sd card to show up at all.

    This is what I have in my vold.fstab at the moment.....

    dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.0/mmc_host/mmc0
    dev_mount extsd /mnt/extsd auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.2/mmc_host/mmc2
    #dev_mount sdcard /mnt/disk auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.0/mmc_host/mmc0
    #dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.2/mmc_host/mmc2
    dev_mount udisk /mnt/udisk auto /devices/platform/fsl-ehci.1/usb

    is something wrong there or is there another file I need to change?

    I have also tried....

    dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.0/mmc_host/mmc0
    dev_mount sdcard /mnt/extsd auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.2/mmc_host/mmc2
    #dev_mount sdcard /mnt/disk auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.0/mmc_host/mmc0
    #dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/mxsdhci.2/mmc_host/mmc2
    dev_mount udisk /mnt/udisk auto /devices/platform/fsl-ehci.1/usb
     
  2. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    also android commander says extsd=N/A
     
  3. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    Can nobody help?!?
     
  4. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    Can nobody help?!?
     
  5. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    Nobody else on here have one of these?
     
  6. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    so nobody on this forum actually knows anything about android then? or just not willing to help other people out.
     
  7. Mendota

    Mendota Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Are you trying to root? Do you need a file manager? I need more information.
     
  8. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    Thanks for the reply :)

    I have rooted the tablet so I can edit the vold.fstab file. don't need a file manager, I have esexplorer, the tablet just wont recognise that there is an sd card insterted at all. I am new to android but it seems the extsd drive isn't even mounting. I have tried several sdcard but no joy. I guess the vold.fstabneeds to be changed somehow but nut sure how.

    Any help will be apreciated. I would just reflash with android 2.2 again but from what I have read I need a verison of android that is specific to my tablet....is that correct? I don't know where I can get a Dawa D9 specific flash.
     
  9. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    I changed the vold.fstab and the internal memory is now not recognised either! I changed it back and the internal memory hasn't come back! any ideas?
     
  10. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    tried factory reset too, no joy. There is no option to mount/unmount in the SD card menu, it just says SDCard unavailable
     
  11. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    I just noticed 3 drives appear in windows explorer when the USB is connected to the tablet, but none of them have any viewable properties. i.e. size, space etc..
     
  12. jackso11

    jackso11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    London
    finally got this working, in the end it was a problem with the vold.fstab
     
  13. marco86xx

    marco86xx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Italy
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 3
    how did you?
    I have a Dawa A9 with sim card slot and external SD placed above. The folder extsd there but when I try to open, I recive the message "empty folders". how I can fix this? as I do I mount the SD card? :(
     
  14. almunday

    almunday Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    England
    Tablet / Device:
    Various
    I had this problem until I realised that my external sd card was showing up as a folder within the default (internal) sd card folder as "tflash". Perhaps this may not be the same with all tablets, but in case it helps, I watched my default (internal) sd folder whilst reinserting my card, the taskbar showed that the card was being mounted and I noticed the new tflash folder had appeared. I went into the folder and sure enough, could see the items that I knew were on the card. I further checked the properties of tflash, which also confirmed the correct size of my card.There is still a problem where all default settings for apps etc point to the internal card, but so far, in Dolphin and Astro file manager, for instance, I have been able to adjust the settings. I hope this may help, but my sympathies to anyone for whom it doesn't. Since posting this I realise that this thread is model specific, so my apologies if the G10 doesn't work in quite the same way as my A816, but it is all to the good if this does help.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011

Share This Page