Cell Standby

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 2' started by stratic, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. stratic
    Offline

    stratic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What is Cell Standby? Is there any way to get rid of it? I recently received a 7022 tablet and was trying to maximize its battery life and I noticed a process call cell standby was using over 70% of the tablets power. Being a wifi device, there is no need for this, right? If you could provide any help I would greatly appreciate it.
  2. JerryScript
    Offline

    JerryScript Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    If you root it, you can then delete the telephony and phone apks. This will give you a big increase in battery life. ;)
  3. stratic
    Offline

    stratic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I try to deltete them it says it can"t because they are read only. I am rooted.
  4. Classicmm
    Offline

    Classicmm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Tablet / Device:
    Kyros 8127
    Before you start deleting system apps, I'd make a backup if you haven't done so already. Being bricked is no fun! I use an app called Antek (on the market) to freeze them when I can.
  5. nba1341
    Offline

    nba1341 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7022
    Use es file explorer to mount r/w (enable in settings) then rename .apk to. old. Then restart.


    P.s. no need to delete just rename

    Sent from my MID7022 using Tapatalk
  6. stratic
    Offline

    stratic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do you enable that? Sorry, I can't seem to find it.
  7. mister_hyde
    Offline

    mister_hyde Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7125-4G
    I have a 7125, rooted, market 3.1.3. When I try to 'mount file system' in ES File Manager Root settings, it says "failed to mount drive", and it still puts a check mark in the box. When I uncheck it, it says "failed to unmount"

    Also, how do I find the .apk's that need to be renamed/deleted to get rid of cell standby and other phone related services? Search for apk's only turns up my Amazon.com apps. (it says I am browsing /sdcard/ and am not sure how to browse root)
  8. stratic
    Offline

    stratic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Download Root Explorer from the Market and open it. Go down and select system, then app. At the top of the page, select "Mount R/W". The two apk's that you want to delete are Phone and TelephonyProvider. Instead of .apk, rename them to .old. This is the method that worked for me. Hope it helps.
  9. mister_hyde
    Offline

    mister_hyde Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7125-4G
    I had ROM Toolbox already installed, and that has a Root Explorer/Editor on it. Was able to find the two .apk and renamed them to .bak. Now all my battery shows is WiFI, Device, and Idle.....yeah!
  10. anvicoto
    Offline

    anvicoto Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wi
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7022
    I would also like to add, after renaming to Phone.apk and Telephony.apk to .old I booted into recovery and wiped cache and dalvic cache (advanced settings) rebooted and voila.... no cell standby.......:D
  11. RoyR
    Offline

    RoyR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7127
    Now that cell standby is "gone," are you getting significantly better battery life? If that phantom cell phone really was some kind of power-sucking app, the 80% that used to go to that should now be 0% and you should have ~4X the battery life.

    I'm betting that's not happening, altho I wish it would (I just bought a 7127). I've been postulating that cell standby is a misnomer for "System Standby," and that is what takes most of the power, whether you rename those telephony files or not.

    I don't mean to be argumentative...just curious.

    Roy
  12. mister_hyde
    Offline

    mister_hyde Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7125-4G
    I've got two 7125's, one with the cell standby active, and one with it inactive. (various reason). Both are fully charged right now from overnight, I think I'll test the battery on them today. Will post results.
  13. RoyR
    Offline

    RoyR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7127
    ahhhhhh....great, Mister_Hyde. Finally, a definitive report on this issue! Two identical units compared side-by-side. Looking forward to the results!

    Roy
  14. mister_hyde
    Offline

    mister_hyde Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7125-4G
    Okay, well, you guys aren't going to like the results. Not sure why or if there's something I've tweeked more on the one.
    With Cell Standy: 8 hrs with screen on mostly (I tried to keep watch on them)
    Using Battery: Cell Standby, Display, Device Idle
    Running Processes: market, GoLauncher EX, Android Keyboard, Email, Magic Smoke Wallpaper

    Without: 5.5 hrs with screen on mostly
    Using Battery: Display, Device Idle
    Running Processes: market, GoLauncher EX, media, android keyboard, Live Wallpaper (grass)
    Not sure why media is only on one. I've only watched a movie and have pics on the other one. And yes, email/contacts only setup on other one.

    So there you have it. Not sure why the results are what they are. Comments Please!!
    • Like Like x 2
  15. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Yes, this is it. The "Cell Standby" is a misreported metric due to Android being a phone ROM. If the device doesn't have a cell chip then it isn't using any power for cell standby, plain and simple. This use simply gets reported under another category if you remove cell standby.

    As the results of mister_hyde's tests indicate battery tests are complicated by many factors which make head to head comparison tricky. If however the cell standby was really using so much battery it would be readily apparent in tests. Since you don't automatically get x times more battery, there is nothing to the myth that removing cell standby will improve battery life. I am just about ready to submit this one to snopes ;)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android tablet what is cell standby
,
cell standby battery life on tablet
,

greatly increase standby time for android tablet

,
what is cell standby on an android tablet