[CFW] TsunamiMod for Coby Kyros MID7024

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 2 Development' started by steev, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    Hmm good point.
    No need to increase the data partition size if the system will become slow and unusable when it is filled.

    solmich from slatedroid may have a workaround for the slow boot problem
    Improving Boot Time for 200+ Installed APK - SlateDroid.com

    but I am not 100% happy with it.
     
  2. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Not happy here either... Not practical for end users, and has problems... But it has some good info: he says in his post that apps get 'unpacked' every boot and it shows in logcat. Maybe we can hack some system file to disable this unpacking??

    Update: found this interesting bug report: http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=18664
    I
    nfo from attached log:
    07-16 10:41:42.874 W/PackageManager( 214): <!>com.android.server.PackageManager
    Service 2640<!> /system/etc/scan_apks_list_uninstall.cfg (No such file or direct
    ory)
    07-16 10:41:42.874 W/PackageManager( 214): <!>com.android.server.PackageManager
    Service 2640<!> /data/dalvik-cache/uninstalled_list.txt (No such file or directo
    ry)


    Edit2: I think that it's amazingly awful that there is no info anywhere about Android system variables and system calls. Where is it documented, only in Google's bunkers? Com'on, if I search info about Linux or Mac OS X I find what I need, but if I search about an Android setprop or system library there isn't anything useful. *sight*
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
    • Like Like x 2
  3. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    I'm very annoyed at that also.
     
  4. Kiserian

    Kiserian Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Caracas
    Tablet / Device:
    Kyros 7024
    gonna give it a try. v0.3 developed by you have some issues are you gonna still working on it steev? to post 'em :D

    Edit: hahaha the ac/dc song made me write still instead of KEEP :p
     
  5. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    @steev I noticed that you are creating an extra partintion in the internal SD and using it as "vendor", any special reason for this?

    Also, I missed the PowerVR drivers from OpenGL (they go in the vendor folder in the AllDro2/MPMAN folder), is it really missing?
     
  6. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    The newer urbetter firmwares mount the rootfs partition on /system/vendor (in /etc/check_property.sh), so I thought I'd make use of it.

    I moved pvrsrvinit to /system/bin because the vendor partition is not mounted yet when init.rc tries to load it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  7. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    I will try to fix as many of the issues reported as I can.
     
  8. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Hmm, but you copy mmc/vendor to root/system, shouldn't be /root/sysem/vendor? I am lost... In Vernox's mod /system/vendor is empty. What am I missing? :confused:

    Oh, OK. Got it. Thanks!
     
  9. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    This command:
    Code:
    cp -rf mmc/vendor root/system/vendor
    
    Will do either 2 things:

    1. If the folder root/system/vendor already exists, it will copy the folder "mmc/vendor" into "root/system/vendor/"
    So we'd end up with "root/system/vendor/vendor"

    2. If the folder root/system/vendor doesn't exist, the command will work as expected

    This command:
    Code:
    cp -rf mmc/vendor root/system/
    
    Will copy the folder "vendor" into "root/system/".
    If a folder "root/system/vendor" already exists, the 2 folders will be merged

    Hope that makes sense
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  10. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    OK, thanks. One more question (actaully 2): is slow_work.ko needed for ntfs support? What are the components of the ntfs mod so I can add it to my CFW, if it's OK with you, of course. ;)
     
  11. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    No you don't need slow_work.ko.
    I think that is only needed for mounting CIFS (Common Internet Filesystem)

    You need:
    system/lib/modules/fuse.ko
    system/lib/modules/ntfs.ko (optional, for read-only mount)
    vendor/app/ntfsvolume.apk
    system/xbin/ntfs-3g
    system/xbin/umount_force

    You also need to create a folder named "scsi" in the root directory for USB ntfs mount to work.

    This patch has all the needed files
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17126237/ntfs_patch.tgz

    NTFS can be mounted either with the ntfsvolume app or from the command line with:
    Code:
    ntfs-3g /dev/block/<device> /mnt/<mountpoint>
    
    I'm hoping to eventually patch vold to automatically mount ntfs partitions with ntfs-3g, but that is a little beyond my ability right now.

    edit:

    Also, notes on building ntfs-3g for android:
    Code:
    # used code sourcery toolchain arm-2009q3-67
    export PATH=/opt/arm-2009q3/bin:$PATH
    export CC="arm-none-linux-gnueabi-gcc"
    export CFLAGS="-O2 -static"
    export LDFLAGS="-static"
    ./configure --disable-ntfsprogs --enable-really-static --host=arm-linux
    make
    mkdir dist
    make install DESTDIR=$PWD/dist
    # strip debug symbols to save space
    find dist/ | xargs file | grep -e executable -e "shared object" | grep ELF | cut -d: -f1 | xargs arm-none-linux-gnueabi-strip --strip-unneeded
    # the static binaries will be in the "dist" folder
    
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
    • Like Like x 2
  12. terry98

    terry98 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    170
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    thanks for the great CFW, but i got a question... this is the utscrip.cfg:

    # Here you can set the cache, data, and rootfs partition sizes (units = MiB)
    SIZE_CACHE=128
    SIZE_DATA=1536
    SIZE_ROOTFS=128

    doesnt this configures data enough for a 2GB internal SD, but MID7024 (mine) got a 4GB internal SD, what about the 2GB left?? can i just increase the SIZE_DATA until i reach 4GB??
     
  13. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    Hi terry,

    The remaining space will be given to the /sdcard partition (the one that shows up on your PC in USB storage mode).
    I forgot to mention that in the config file
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2011
  14. terry98

    terry98 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    170
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    Thanks a lot!!

    Sent from my Coby Kyros 7024
     
  15. sunset0202

    sunset0202 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Koby Kyros 7024
    @steev @lfom I´ll exchange the internal SD for the first time (going 8 GB class 6) and reflash Tsunami 1.2. I can´t my calibration hold well, I tried steeve´s tip but nothing changed. I replace OFW ut_tscal.apk in /system/apps before flashing and it´s done or do I have do to do something else? And as for SD different size, change any config? Seen you guys discussing the matter and I'm not sure what to do, any input would help...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
coby 7024 rom
,

coby kyros 7024 alldro 2

,
coby kyros mid7024 downloads
,
coby kyros mid7024 mod
,
coby kyros operating system mods
,
install linux on coby kyros 7024
,
kyros song over 300 mb size